We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Save
You added Hotel La Amistad to your Saves list
Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

La Amistad provides a great boutique Hotel experience in a nice residential neighboorhood just mijnutes from Downtown San Jose. The Staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and well maintained along with the common areas.

Room Tip: Room 311 is a large suite that looks like a large apartment with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    44
    23
    17
    4
See reviews for
6
61
84
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I do a lot of traveling. I have stayed in many hotels. This is not a pool and doorman type of place. Yet, it gives you all the things you would need or want. Thats why I gave it a five. The front desk people are top notch. Literally whatever you need they make every effort to help, with a smile and pleasant demenor. The rooms are clean and fairly large. The food is some of the best you can get for the price. I acutually would rate the food way above average. The chef, is very nice an engaging. The bar has all you would want. They mix drinks and the beers are as cold as anything i have ever had. The train? Well, I go to bed late and get up late. So, I only barelly remember hearing it. I have stayed here 5 times. Last time was for 2 weeks. So, dont let the train keep you away. I did see the crazy dog that chases cars! lol...They allow company. Without weird looks or questions. I will be qoing back in August and cant wait!!! Maybe will see ya at the bar before heading out into the night....

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside portion of hotel, away from the side railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IceManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Having visited Central America often I found the Amistad to now be on top of my list of places to stay. I stayed there for the first time from June 19-27th. The reasons are numerous but the most important thing to me is the staff. They all were very ingratiating while at the\ same time very sincere. The first person I spoke to-calling there toll free number from the US- was Carlos at the front desk. He was patient explaining answers to all of my questions and followed up immediately with a detailed e-mail explaining all details, including price, dates, room details, ect. I had originally booked a queen room but decided a few days later to opt for a King rook which cost slightly more. I again called this time speaking to Rodolfo who also was very informative and clearly explained in detail the differences. He as well immediately sent me an e-mail which clearly stated the change and specifications. Upon arriving I met both of them and there were terrific. The night front desk person, Ricardo was also extremely helpful with everything from waking me at 4:30am to catch my flight to spending a good bit of time helping me to print out a boarding pass. This was not a kissing butt type of good service it was sincere "we are happy to help you in any way we can because you are our guest type of service." The bar which was reasonable, fully stocked and offered a slew of specialty martinis as well as the "Coldest Beers" I've ever had - The bottles were frosty with a crust of ice outside and so cold but not at all frozen. The bartenders were absolute gems as well. Most nights Jenifer was there- she was sweet friendly and a pleasure to be around. A new bartender started while I was there - her name is Karol, great personality, and I am sure she will be a great addition to the staff. This is starting to get a bit long winded so I will be succinct in finishing this off. Met owner Matt and he really makes you feel like you are visiting Friends. All rooms have 30" flat screen TV's with English, Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese, and German stations-Like 100 or so channels. Memory Foam mattresses in all rooms which were great- I am looking to buy one now that I got spoiled at La Amistad. Free Breakfast which was excellent each day. Daily Maid Service was terrific. Free laundry service for which I tipped the maids because I felt that they more than deserved it. Free calls to the USA-which was great as my niece had cancer surgery during my stay so getting updates was easy and free!! She is doing pretty well, just sayin'....Oh and regarding the train that some folks complained about, I did not find it loud or annoying. It only runs a couple hours in the am and a couple hours in the pm. .I thought it was kinda cool and an interesting part of the charm of the area. It never woke me but If you are a really light sleeper you may be woken but it did not disturb me at all. I loved it and will be back. Soon I hope!!

Room Tip: King Rooms well worth The extra few bucks per night. More spacious and more of that great Memory Foa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyxchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I met the Amercian owner and he is a very friendly and helpfull guy.
So I am sympathetic, but you want my honest opinion.....

This hotel was my last stop before flying back home.
It's rather close to the Coca Cola busstation - the taxi fare was 1.800 colones,
so about 4 dollar.

My room was quite small, dark and painted dark red, which is a bit weird.
Only one small window, which has a view on the.... inside staircase.
The room contains a large bed with a great matrass and a TV.
It has a small bathroom with - it must be said - an excellent shower.

The bar and restaurant area look very nice and modern.
And the food is very good. Breakfast is pretty good also, with all the coffee and toast you need.

It seems a base camp for single americans who have mainly beer and girls on their itinerary.
And the owner and his friends that run the hotel are living their dream. So good for them.
If you are looking for a good time, l'm sure they will point you in the right direction.

In San Jose is nothing cultural to see. So if you don't need to be there, try to avoid it and go straight to or from the airport to your destination.

If you need a place to stay after a long flight or before you leave, you can stay here for a night.
Nothing wrong with it basicly. And if you want to be entertained in the evening, go to the bar around the corner. Have a beer and just look around and have a bite to eat.

And oh!..... there is train track across the street where a train honks it's horn every 10 minutes.
Minor detail :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed for a week staff was great, free breakfast, clean rooms, the train is loud if you can get past that I think you will enjoy experience

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Freindly staff and clean rooms. Have seen some of the other places and by far for the money the Amistad is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blake485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA and Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

a tough call. staff is helpful, and some rooms are pleasant, but you are right on the train tracks and you will be washing the mildew from every ounce of clothing you bring with you. try someplace else. i have heard rooms at little havana are more pleasant.

Room Tip: no printing available, not even for boarding passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGLinBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#14 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#45 of 83 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Property: Hotel La Amistad
Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing