We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kekoldi Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family and I recently visited Costa Rica, our first port of call was San Jose, I chose Hotel Kekoldi after reading the reviews here and wasn't disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly, made our stay a pleasurable one. The small tropical garden is lovely and relaxing, attracting various birds, the kids loved hanging out there. The rooms were comfortable and airy. I liked the location as it was a short walk from the centre, but out of the hustle and bustle of downtown, barrio Amon where it is situated is quite charming with its colonial buildings and close to some nice cafes. I would definitely recommend it for your stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonicsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    62
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
63
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Kekoldi. We enjoyed our staying. The room was big and the shower too. We liked the garden very much and we had all our breakfasts there. The staff was very helpful and friendly (Thanks Don Francisco and Jakub). Being very central , we visited San Josè by foot without any need of spend money in public transport.
The breakfast was good (continental type with local fruit).
With an extra $25, a driver from Kekoldi came to pick us up at the airport. (A standard cab usually ask for $30+ )
I definitely recommend it as it is good value for money.

Room Tip: We haven't seen the other rooms so I cannot really compare. We got a room close to the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it is a very comfortable hotel. Our room was clean, had hot water and was adequate for our needs. The hotel is located in an art deco building away from the noise but still close to all the tourist sites. A substantial breakfast is provided and sets you up for the start of the day. The staff are excellent and , by the way, the hotel has free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I almost didn't go hear because if the last review but I am glad I did. First, calling this a hotel is being a bit pretentious. It is really a B&B which is fine by me. It was a mansion once converted into 10 individual bedrooms with individual baths. Nothing fancy but very clean. It is very convenient to the downtown but as such fairly noisy. The rooms facing the courtyard are quieter than those facing the street. Breakfast is simple but adequate with fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, some cereals and loaf bread for toast. The nice touch is that they will make you a couple of eggs to order included with breakfast. Give me fresh fruit, toast and cooked to order eggs and I am a happy camper. I would recommend that the owners replace the margarine like spread they provide with some real butter. Mostly though it is the staff what would bring me back. I am sure I could find other places where the rooms were more updated and on a quieter street (maybe) but the owner and staff made me feel like I was among friends. A note to the german lady who wrote the last review. Alajuela? With all due respect, do you think I would be looking for a hotel in downtown San Jose if I were interested in staying in Alajuela?

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank jbonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

the only good thing is the location close to the city centre. The house is old and needs a renovation. Never accept the rooms just beside the front door, because it is noisy an smelly..To sit in the breakfastroom is not comfortable, because you get all the wind going through. The owners keep the front door and the garden door open all the time. The breakfast is good. The owners are helpful during the day. But at night they disturb you. They sit at the reception until 2 am talking and laughing loudly. Their friends come and go. So it is hard to sleep at night. When you get up and tell them they do not understand what you mean. The garden is windy and shady. There are better hotels for less money.
At the end of my trip I found out that the small town of Alajuela very close to San Jose airport is much much better and nicer than San Jose itself. There you can find good and cheap hotels and prepare your further trip or finish it there.

Room Tip: never accept a room close to the front door. They are too noisy and room 1 smells bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferien10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
168 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was moved to this hotel when my original hotel was full.
The staff here were great and accommodating and I had no issues. I was placed in the room across from the check in area and it was really loud. But checking closed at 10:00pm or something like that and then it was fine.

From was clean and spacious and had hot water. He gardens were beautiful.

Room Tip: Maybe not across from the front desk if you want to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is really close to the historic downtown area, and the staff is very helpful and accommodating. For the price, its a great value and I would definitely stay there in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#44 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#25 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#16 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Property: Kekoldi Hotel
Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose
Kekoldi Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing