We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kekoldi Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were delighted with the greeting provided by the hotel management and staff when we stayed during early July 2013. The breakfast is very tasty and fresh and is a combination of self serve with a choice of hot food too. We found the rooms to be spacious and very clean, with nice crisp bed linen which I really like. Our bedroom overlooked the private rear garden, which is full of tropical flowers we never see in the UK ! The new owner Francisco was helpful with information about Central America and CR specifically. The rooms are probably ready for a quick makeover, but confident this will happen. Most helpful was David who is the Assistant Manager and found time to explain and book some great local restaurants and entertainment. Finally, almost everything is walking distance from the Hotel, including down town markets or upscale restaurants.

Room Tip: An upstairs en suite bed room overlooking the garden is our recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_holmes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    52
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
46
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Kelkoldi Hotel for two nights the beginning of April 2013. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were good. Fruits, Toast, Cereals, Eggs, Coffee, Juice, etc. You can sit inside or in their fabulous interior courtyard under the trees. The room we stayed in was massive. The shower had hot water. We ha da great view of the street below and the school and mural across the street. They have a wonderful front courtyard/balcony that is a staircase up above the street where you can chill and have wine and watch all the action down below. Very private. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Maybe in the future. Thanks for everything David & Guillermo. Cheers, Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City.

Room Tip: The room we had was the front room upstaris overlooking the main street. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Cowan_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small owner managed hotel is in a superb location for visiting the centre of San Jose.This is a city which on my first visit I was not impressed but on revisiting it again when you get under its skin it is a fascinating place with some historic buildings and excellent restaurants. Hotel Kekoldi is a small but very well managed hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and are spotless .There is a peaceful garden at the rear and the best rooms overlook it.The breakfast is limited in choice but is more than adequate.Overall an excellent choice for a stopover in San Jose in a small friendly and well managed hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandjan477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Kekoldi is a small owner managed hotel well located in the city. The staff went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. The rooms are pleasantly decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. Add to this a good breakfast with plenty of choice and the luxury of the peaceful garden and you have an excellent choice for a stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

San Jose is perhaps not the most exciting place in the world, but when you go the service relative to price of this place cannot be beaten.
Would recommend to anyone. Rooms are spacious, the breakfast lovely and the owner and his staff are constantly there offering you a complimentary tea, advice on where to go etc.
Location offers easy access to the sights and cages etc.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I wouldn't stay long in central San Jose but this is a great place to stop over!

I stayed at the Kekoldi a couple of years ago. I'd arrived in San Jose late evening and was stopping over in the city before carrying on to the coast the next day. This is a small hotel, clean and well managed. The breakfast area really is as nice as it looks in the photo! It's close to Avenida Central which is a great place to go for a stroll and take in a little pura vida.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryC627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This small hotel has wonderful ambiance. The staff is fun and helpful. Rooms are bright with lots of light. Breakfast is fresh fruit, fresh breads, eggs to order, etc. all included in the small price charged.
Wonderful garden in back where bird watching is great.
Will return when in San Jose'.

Room Tip: Room 7-Briori looks out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumbsup45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#37 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#49 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#25 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Property: Kekoldi Hotel
Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose
Kekoldi Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing