We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Nice Staff, Central Location”
Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kekoldi Hotel
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Kelkoldi Hotel for two nights the beginning of April 2013. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were good. Fruits, Toast, Cereals, Eggs, Coffee, Juice, etc. You can sit inside or in their fabulous interior courtyard under the trees. The room we stayed in was massive. The shower had hot water. We ha da great view of the street below and the school and mural across the street. They have a wonderful front courtyard/balcony that is a staircase up above the street where you can chill and have wine and watch all the action down below. Very private. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Maybe in the future. Thanks for everything David & Guillermo. Cheers, Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City.

Room Tip: The room we had was the front room upstaris overlooking the main street. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Cowan_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small owner managed hotel is in a superb location for visiting the centre of San Jose.This is a city which on my first visit I was not impressed but on revisiting it again when you get under its skin it is a fascinating place with some historic buildings and excellent restaurants. Hotel Kekoldi is a small but very well managed hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and are spotless .There is a peaceful garden at the rear and the best rooms overlook it.The breakfast is limited in choice but is more than adequate.Overall an excellent choice for a stopover in San Jose in a small friendly and well managed hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandjan477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Kekoldi is a small owner managed hotel well located in the city. The staff went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. The rooms are pleasantly decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. Add to this a good breakfast with plenty of choice and the luxury of the peaceful garden and you have an excellent choice for a stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

San Jose is perhaps not the most exciting place in the world, but when you go the service relative to price of this place cannot be beaten.
Would recommend to anyone. Rooms are spacious, the breakfast lovely and the owner and his staff are constantly there offering you a complimentary tea, advice on where to go etc.
Location offers easy access to the sights and cages etc.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dane-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I wouldn't stay long in central San Jose but this is a great place to stop over!

I stayed at the Kekoldi a couple of years ago. I'd arrived in San Jose late evening and was stopping over in the city before carrying on to the coast the next day. This is a small hotel, clean and well managed. The breakfast area really is as nice as it looks in the photo! It's close to Avenida Central which is a great place to go for a stroll and take in a little pura vida.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryC627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This small hotel has wonderful ambiance. The staff is fun and helpful. Rooms are bright with lots of light. Breakfast is fresh fruit, fresh breads, eggs to order, etc. all included in the small price charged.
Wonderful garden in back where bird watching is great.
Will return when in San Jose'.

Room Tip: Room 7-Briori looks out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thumbsup45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The only good things about this place was the breakfast and the car garage for my rental car. It is not located in the best of neighborhoods and everyone is warned not to walk around at night. It sits at the base of an old rich neighborhood of big mansions that are now government buildings. The night desk boy is full of himself but the day shift desk boy was pleasant. The bed was hard and the room hot with just ceiling fans to cool down. The room had bars on the windows even though it was on the second floor. Key to my point and theirs about the safety of the neighborhood. There was an annoying light outside the door that attracked every flying bug in town which really just pissed me off nightly. The show window kept letting moths into the room because one of window slots was broken. Had to keep the bathroom door closed all the time and dodge flying bugs everytime I wanted to take a dump or shower.

Room Tip: They only have one garage for a car, so be the first and don't count on it being reserved for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#20 of 78 in San Jose
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 78 in San Jose
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose
Kekoldi Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing