We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for people traveling on a budget”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ridgway Hostel
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for people traveling on a budget”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I spent several days at Casa Ridgway in June 2011. Casa Ridgway is a small guest house operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Quaker Peace Center). It's not fancy, but it's cosy and situated on a quiet street near the center of town. It you are traveling on a budget and love to meet people from all over the world that's the place to go . The rooms are simple and you need to share bathrooms, but the staff is wonderful, and there is a communal kitchen where you can cook. We have wonderful memories of the place and the people we met there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Casa Ridgway is a humble but VERY hospitable and affordable residence for visitors to San Jose, Costa Rica. I recommend it highly for its knowledgeable and accommodating staff, casual atmosphere, and outstanding location in the heart of San Jose. Guests are within walking distance of museums, shopping, government buildings, banks, and restaurants. Casa Ridgway serves wonderful Costa Rican coffee with its Continental breakfast. Be sure to take a few bags of coffee home to please your family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms before settling in to be sure you have the one that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is not the party place or a hostel to meet a lot of new friends but it is a very nice quiet hostel to relax. The rooms are clean and big, breakfast is great (fresh fruit salad, eggs, toast, coffee or tea!) good and free internet connection and the staff is very helpful. Also the location of this hostel is great, 2 minutes away of the big shopping street of San Jose and just 2 minutes away of a great restaurant: Shakti. Lastly we felt really safe in this part of San Jose. So good hostel to explore San Jose or to make a stop before you take a bus to another place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleB7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Ok, the place is weird....This place made me feel like I was in an AA meeting. Guys in and out all the time. It is a hostel but just had a weird feel.
They are nice the place is clean. They have a cat that comes in your window in the middle of the night.
They have free brakfast and coffee.
Not bad but not good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hello,

It is important to know that we are an NGO promoting cultures of peace and that the adjacent building is the hostel.

We host and let our partners host meetings. We regularly have central american indiginous movements, costa rica human rights groups, meetings about the honduran refugee situation, the women's internatlonal league for peace...

I am sorry to hear that you have had that impression. We have recently posted documents in the rooms explaining what our NGO is about. We encourage our guests to come talk to the staff about the activities we host so people don't extrapolate or get the wrong idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I stayed here on two separate occasions while I was traveling throughout Costa Rica. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place. I arrived late at night during my first stay, but they had a friendly and accommodating receptionist who told me all I needed to know about the hostel. In the morning I ate the complementary breakfast at the hostel. It was sufficient, but if you would like a larger breakfast I recommend going to one of the small restaurants around the hostel. The staff will happily tell you a good and cheap place to eat. All of the rooms are dedicated to peace makers and revolutionaries, which adds I nice spin to the accommodation. The hostel has free wireless access for its guests, as well as a large free library. Overall, I would recommend this hostel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmac745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our hosts in Puerto Viejo suggested we stay here. The receptionist was just wonderful - took us around to a cheap, good Tico restaurant, answered all our questions. We selected the Mahatma Gandhi room. It was neat, with an eastern-facing window, quiet and roomy.
I used their ancient but fast internet and Yehudah accessed wi-fi on his laptop. A few blocks away is the Center Democacia with a whole line of arts and crafts shops we shopped at our final morning. We easily caught taxis to go to the bus station and airport. We had stayed at Hostel Pangea, much more for the younger set, but my partner really didn't like the windowless room (like a cell) and the noise and smoke in the restaurant. So this was better for him. My only complaint was that the breakfast was one piece of fruit and three pieces of bread with some refried beans slathered on each - plus a cup of tea of coffee - not particularly appetizing. We were told there might be eggs, so we were disappointed. My advice is to stay there and have breakfast around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

As we arrived, we were given the key to our room and told its location. The lady behind the desk did not bother to show us bathrooms, shower rooms or offer any advice on services provided.
Reached the room to find it filthy, when we told the lady she came with a broom and swept the floor, leaving everything else. Despite advertising hot showers, all the water was cold. At breakfast, Tea was requested and they said why dont we drink coffee instead, as they had none.
Communication was poor and the people unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyeWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a good reception experience. Some nights we have volunteers from the NGO help at the front desk and it is possible that was the case.

We have been restructuring Casa Ridgway in order to have a more constant service. We do have tea for breakfast and we have fixed all our shower heads in order to correct the water heating problem.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 108 in San Jose Metro
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#53 of 82 in San Jose
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#17 of 82 in San Jose
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#33 of 82 in San Jose
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Alfi
Casa Alfi
#7 of 64 in San Jose
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ridgway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ridgway Hostel

Property: Casa Ridgway Hostel
Address: Calle 15 | between Av . 6 and 8, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 82 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ridgway is a small guest house located in San Jose, Costa Rica. It is operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Center of Friends for Peace). We are situated on a quiet street near the center of town, conveniently located near many popular attractions and activities. The guest house offers private rooms and dormitory bedrooms with shared bathrooms, at modest prices. A communal kitchen and patio-dining area are available to all guests. A unique feature of our rooms is that they are each in the process of being dedicated to a peace activist. Some of these activists include: Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Linus Pauling, Anne Frank, Chief Seattle, Aung San Sun Kyi, Leo Tolstoy, and George Bernard Shaw. In addition to supporting the operation of CAP, Casa Ridgway welcomes people from all over the world, and promotes peace through hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ridgway Hotel San Jose
Casa Ridgway Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing