We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guided tour is best bang for your buck!”

Teatro Nacional Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica Admission Ticket
More Info
$66.25*
and up
Discover Costa Rica's Capital City and Museums
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Private San Jose City Tour with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 121 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1897, this elegant theater has been a source of pride.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Guided tour is best bang for your buck!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The National Theater in San Jose CR is beautiful. You can pay your reasonable admission and wander on your own, but it is so interesting to learn about it from the guided tour. My daughter and I were very glad we waited for the tour that Jeff conducted. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank mommcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,781
    660
    161
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hardly a bad seat in the house!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here to see The Nutcracker last Christmas and we had a great time. Unfortunately there isn't a ton of high culture like this in San Jose so this is a must see. There really isn't a bad seat in the house, and it's worth the money. There are snacks available for purchase at intermission, but nothing to write home about. If you live here it's a must see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had an opportunity to see a concert hear on a Friday night. They charge to take a tour of the theater so I figured I would just buy a ticket and see a show as well. I'm glad I did.

It is a small, but beautiful theater. Some of the seats have obstructed views because of the columns.

This was one of the highlights of my trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank plcitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Situated in the heart of downtown, it's a nice building and the interior is beautiful. It's located in the middle of downtown San Jose and has nice sitting areas outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank meshellatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Opulance and Beauty”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

IT has very old architecture , lots of booth seating and a different look at the history of the country . Some rooms in the theatre are viewed only from ths sideline as manyof the decor , paintings and furniture is of such historic value it is necessary to reserve it. I would recomend it to any travelers wishing to view some of the culture of Costa Rica.Afterward have a lunch on the patio of the Hotel National in the same square.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Nacional Costa Rica also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Teatro Nacional Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing