We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful.....”

Teatro Nacional Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1897, this elegant theater has been a source of pride.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful.....”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful piece of architecture. Rating average only because we didn't get to see much of the inside because we ran out of time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alcove01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,639
    625
    150
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing Building”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you're in San Jose, don't miss this--it's the prettiest thing in the whole city. The building is wonderfully preserved and maintained. The cafe is a great place to grab a latte and just bask in the opulence of a bygone era.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmschis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see: National Theater”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a very informative tour given by Jeffrey. We learned a great deal about the history of Costa Rica and Jeffery did a great job engaging my children. I recommend the tour for families. It took about an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Highly recommend the tour! The history of the National Theater is fascinating, thanks to the great tour guide! We also got the chance to translate the Chinese President's visitor message for the theater, which was an interesting memory for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sijie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg FL
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We took the guided tour on a rainy Saturday afternoon - and highly recommend it. The tour is only about an hour and our guide was excellent, incorporating the use of an iPad mini to show different photos/videos to the group that enhanced the history/background and information being provided. It's a beautiful and amazing building that is still in active use today for concerts, state dinners, etc and even has an opera season. It is also located across the plaza from the Museo de Oro Precolombino y Numistica, which I also recommend. Photographs were allowed (without flash).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FishMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Nacional Costa Rica also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Teatro Nacional Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing