We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour back in time”

Teatro Nacional Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica Admission Ticket
More Info
$66.25*
and up
Discover Costa Rica's Capital City and Museums
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Private San Jose City Tour with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 119 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1897, this elegant theater has been a source of pride.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A tour back in time”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As part of my study abroad program, a group of students and I visited the theater. While we were unable to catch a performance, just exploring the various rooms inside the theater was breath-taking. The history behind the paintings and sculptures was almost as brilliant as the artwork itself. After the tour, we encountered a man outside selling the origional Costa Rica money, featuring the famous mural, for only $1. Made great inexpensive gifts for the family back home! The tour and information I learned will stay with me longer than any pictures I could have taken. Really worth a visit if you could spare the time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBug_mg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,740
    651
    159
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for a quiet coffee and....”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stopped here to have a quiet afternoon "tea" and a pastry which was quite good. Atmosphere of the Theatre also in the cafe.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adlernews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“National Symphony”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to see the National Symphony our last night in Costa Rica and WHAT A TREAT! $8 for gallery seats with an incredible view. What an amazing performance in such a beautiful space! We took a taxi for $2 to and from the theater from our hotel, which made it a breeze!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not only the pieces they play, the variety of styles, nor the magnificent building.

Visiting just the building and surroundings is a great program, attending to a concert a MUST!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Violar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“didn't want to go, loved it!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I really thought I wasn't going to be surprised.... but I was!. It's a lost gem in downtown San José. The building is beautifull, and really enjoyed speaking to the people working in the restoration. They show passion and love for this historic place. The central ceiling painting is a must!! In a french type ambience, you find this amazing huge ceiling painting with the story of the Costa Rica's cafe harvest, with its lively colors. I loved the door knobs, as well...
and to top it all..., as you are about to leave the theater building, on your left there's a small store with native artists modern handcrafts!!! beware....I wanted to buy everything!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Nacional Costa Rica also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Teatro Nacional Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing