We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$184
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$184
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$171
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,197 results
Traveler rating
1,597
481
75
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,597
481
75
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel garden suite one night costa rica our honeymoon open courtyard roof terrace boutique hotel last night next morning great restaurant hotel in san jose long flight comfortable rooms fountain jacuzzi tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 2,197 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2017

A really characterful hotel in San Jose with a colonial feel. Excellent service and well appointed rooms, though a little disappointed that our superior room did not have an exterior window (it looked it to a courtyard but was well done to maintain privacy). The restaurant is a gem and for Costa Rica (from an European's perspective) was very good value. Highly recommended if you want to stay in San Jose

Room tip: Ask for an exterior view
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank GSUKKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 1, 2017

I had previously stayed at this hotel in 2004, on my second visit to Costa Rica I made a point of staying at Hotel Grano de Oro as I had liked it so much on my first visit. It is a converted mansion, the restaurant & bar areas are very attractive & the rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel is arranged around a small central garden area with tropical plants, which adds to the overall pleasantness of this place.
2 terminals are available in the lobby area for free Internet access.
Food quality in the restaurant was consistently good, as was service.
Hotel Grano de Oro is not situated on a major thoroughfare & the surrounding neighbourhood appeared pretty quiet so guests shouldn't be disturbed by noise. Other reviewers have commented on safety issues in San Jose but I didn't feel uncomfortable walking around the town, during daylight hours anyway.
Negatives? Hotel Grano de Oro isn't a budget hotel, & restaurant prices were at the "fine dining" end of the scale, but I felt that the quality of hotel & food justified the cost.
Overall, Hotel Grano de Oro is within my top 3 favorite hotels.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhilbyJ2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

A gem in the middle of the city area. I don't think I'd wander around at night. We stayed there since we arrived late into San Jose. It was a pain to get there from the airport due to bridge construction. Was really difficult to get out of the area as well as traffic is way worse than nyc and is a standstill. I will avoid San Jose next time and just stay near the airport, fly into Liberia or take a puddle jumper to our final destination in the amazing country of Costa Rica.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Home with t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

We spent 2 nights here & the rooms are just as they are pictured...we stayed in the family room which was really lovely for our family of 4. (it could easily hold a family of 5) Despite proximity to a main street in San Jose & just a 10 minute walk to the central market, it was nice & quiet. As you might expect from the photos, the linens and bath products were commensurate with the appearance as well. There are lovely little green courtyards nestled throughout the hotel & even though there was no 'view' out our windows, there were the tops of lovely palms that made you feel you were in the midst of a tropical forest.

Service was exceptional, so very friendly and helpful. The gift shop has a lovely selection of local made things & the restaurant was beautiful with good food & excellent service as well. The family that owns this hotel has also started a charitable organization to help young girls in trouble in Costa Rica, so it's also nice to know that you are staying with someone who has a heart for people...and it shows!

Room tip: I think all rooms would be quite quiet. The family room was lovely for up to 5 with 2 bedrooms & 1 bath.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

A delightful hotel in a quiet side road of San Jose - full of character and old world charm. We stayed there for one night before heading off early in the morning to Tortuguero. There is a garden that, from what we could see in the dark, was like a mini rainforest. Our superior room on the ground floor was tastefully furnished and had it’s own small courtyard based around a private fountain, and there are other larger fountains in the hotel – one in a small courtyard where corridors joined and one in the bar courtyard. We had read that there was a fine-dining restaurant there and we were keen to check it out - and were very glad we did. We were pleased to see that it was frequented by many local people appearing to be on a special night out. The service was excellent, the food was beautifully presented and delicious - some variations to accommodate our vegetarian requirements were easily agreed - and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening there – it was a super way to start our holiday.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeandJaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews