We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason it's #1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's #1”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We spent one night at Grano de Oro and were amazed by how nice the hotel was for such a reasonable price. It's a beautiful hotel, a careful combination of modern and historic, and I wish there were more hotels like it everywhere I travel.

Nearly everything about our stay was perfection. The reservation process was simple (with confirmation within 2 hours), check-in was smooth and we were given a complimentary upgrade for our anniversary. We had booked a standard room, but I'd recommend paying a little extra for a superior. The room was charming, with a nice patio and fountain that had small fish. The bed linens are high quality, and even the soap in the bathroom is above average. We had dinner at the restaurant; the waiters seemed indifferent but the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The rooftop jacuzzi deck is an incredible little gem, I wish we'd had a morning to spend there.

There were traces of construction, with a small amount of noise in the morning, but nothing interfered with our stay. Even the contractors were polite, greeting us with a smile when we passed them in the hallway. I've never experienced that before, but it definitely left an impression.

Although San Jose isn't much of a destination, we did venture into the neighborhood a bit. It's a safe area, with a few shops and a strip of rental car shops (which was perfect for our needs) within a few blocks. The front desk recommended two grocery stores in the area, Pali and Mas x Menos, where we picked up food for breakfast and lunches over the following days.

Even if you only have a night in San Jose, Grano de Oro is a must-visit hotel. From the staff to the rooms to the luxe public spaces, this hotel is fantastic in so many ways.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonFamilyMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    396
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
298
1,049
58
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in Gran de Oro Hotel in the room right next door to construction. We were not notified in advance about the construction nor was our room rate reduced due to being inconvenienced by the noise. Outside of the construction, the hotel was very nice. I would recommend this hotel but would avoid room #26.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashamh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you are looking for excellent service and comfortable elegant accomodations this is the place in San Jose. I love the jungle and the beach, but before or after it's great to get pampered. The building is lovely and the beds are wonderful. The people at the front desk are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Fine hotel, with an excellent restaurant in the centre of San José. Not cheap, but represents very fair value for money. Some interesting, if not especially 'local' dishes, decent wines etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

The hotel and the restaurant are world class. Lack of air conditioning not a problem. My husband grew up in Texas and is AC-addicted. No complaints here. The August air with the fan was delightful. Actually closed windows to sleep with no problem. The Victorian restoration is wonderful. The food as good as any where in the world, other than three-star France.

Don't miss a walk to the central market from the hotel. See Costa Rica without tourists!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Hotel and grounds gorgeous, rooms gorgeous, food fabulous, staff was excellent, there is no other way to describe this property other than absolute perfection! We also stayed here our last night in CR. It was so charming and made for an enjoyable stay in San Jose. We loved sitting at our table in the elegant courtyard of the restaurant and talking over our vacation. The food was by far the best of our vacation and less expensive than the meals in the tourist towns. Was a delightful experience!! Will absolutely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We spent our last night here before flying back to the US. After a week in the jungle it was bliss to walk into this beautiful hotel. We had two rooms, one with 2 adults and 1 child and the other with 2 adults and 2 children. When we booked all that was left were two rooms with 2 queen beds. The rooms were very large compared to the standard hotel room so we didn't feel cramped at all. Very quiet hotel considering you are almost in the middle of San Jose. There is no pool but there is a rooftop garden with two hot tubs. The kids loved this during the day but I can see it being a very romantic spot in the evening for adults. We had our final evening dinner in the hotel restaurant which is considered one of the best in town. Very elegant, top notch service and outstanding food. Very pricey, especially after $4 arroz con pollo most of the week. Nice final evening after a spectacular week. The hotel is really not near anything for tourists but a 5 minute taxi ride gets you into the heart of San Jose. Very nice gift shop with surprisingly good prices. I got a banana paper pad as a last minute gift for $4 and it was $14.99 at the airport. If you've forgotten any gifts, know you are not getting ripped off here. Staff was very good about giving directions and advice and setting up car service and ordering taxis. Great way to end our trip.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jemmasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing