We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Spent one night in Grano de Oro upon arrival to Costa Rica and would have loved to have stayed longer.
The staff were great, and upgraded us to a superior room because it was our honeymoon. The rooms are very well presented, not huge but big enough, ours also had a little terrace with a fountain, which we found a lovely unusual characteristic.
There are 2 outdoor jacuzzis on the roof which is a lovely addition to this small hotel which cannot accomodate a pool.
The restaurant is excellent, one of the best in San Jose, but not cheap.
If staying there to visit San Jose city center, be aware that you will need taxis as it is probably a little too far to walk comfortably.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,037
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My new husband and I flew into San Jose from Miami and spent our first night in Costa Rica in this hotel. We had a pre-arranged flight for the next day to the Osa Peninsula and just needed somewhere to stay for the night. As we were traveling through San Jose to the hotel from the airport, we were a little concerned at the surroundings and at first thought our taxi driver was taking us to somewhere we didn't want to go. However, in the middle of nowhere there was this beautiful hotel. The exterior was very inviting and well kept. It was drizzling so someone met us with an umbrella and someone else carried our bags into our room for us. Everyone was very friendly and hospitable and the desk clerk spoke enough english for us to check in. The hotel was very charming and nicely decorated. The rooms were small but clean. It was so quiet, we didn't even know anyone else was staying in the hotel until we went downstairs to the restaurant and lobby. We were able to take an uninterrupted nap at 3 o'clock in the afternoon. We were exhausted so we ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious and service was incredible. We felt safe enough in the hotel to leave our window open while we slept that night. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need somewhere to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed at the GDO for 2 nights - 30 Mar - room 36 (our friends room 29)

Lovely rooms - no air con but ceiling fan. Bathroom slightly tatty, with scuff marks on door and tarnished sink. Furnishings very good. 2 large beds.

Included: Fridge, TV, safety deposit box (free), towels for the hot tubs on the roof & chocolates left at night !

WIFI connection - medium. Had use of laptop at reception (free to guests)

Reception staff would help with anything and were very pleasant.

Downside: Our room had obviously been rejected by an earlier guest, as upon check-in we found sand all over the chair and unflushed toilet paper in the bowl! I can only assume that they did not like the sound of the fountain outside the room, as it flowed day and night - therefore for anyone requiring a quiet room, don't stay in room 36.

Food: Breakfast was good - particularly the granola (which had in the breakfast box they provided for our very early departure)
Dinner was less good ! The prices far out weighed the taste - although presented beautifully. We would give it a miss if we travel there again. Sad to say this was a particular disappointment as the restaurant had rave reviews!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Strongly recommend this place. Wonderful set up, very clean and nice enough rooms, excellent and friendly service. Breakfast was excellent, and so was the restaurant (a Costa Rican family friend confirmed it has historically been renown for it s food and ambient amongst the locals). The hotel have a spa, with a small but leafy and cozy roof terrace with two jacuzzi and some sunbeds for the idle moments in between a massage and a not bath. Worthy of its name

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestroAndMargherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We read all these great reviews so we were expecting a great hotel, we got an ok hotel. We were only there for one night and we did not try the restaurant. The plus side, it's clean, has a new feel to it, you feel comfortable, lobby looks good and the staff at check in were helpful. But the room was super small, barely had room to put your luggage. No style at all, looked like grandma's room with grandma's furniture.I think there are two parts to the hotel and we had the crappy room side. They also failed to wake us up as agreed one hour before our bus pick up. That was upsetting. They called us 20 minutes before our bus departure, not a lot of time to get ready. We wanted to get some food to go, since we wouldn't have time for breakfast, but they didn't have anything to go. In the end we ordered two yogurts, they cost $4 each, kind of crazy, but cheaper than the $5 croissant. When they brought them they were both expired over two months ago. We got them replaced but the overall experience dealing with the restaurant breakfast staff was unpleasant, they seeemed they could care less. Also at checkout, I asked for their exchange rate wanting to exchange $$ into colones, they quoted me a rate and when they gave me back the change, I noticed that the calculation was wrong. Turns out that they used another rate, and the rate they quoted me was only for paying the room or some story that didn't make any sense. It felt like being lied to straight to your face and there was no reason for this at all. It's a popular hotel, they might have forgotten how to treat their customers. Next time, we'll try another place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I have stayed at many different hotels in San Jose (in the center and outside of San Jose) and this is by far one of the best hotels in San Jose. I would definitely recommend it. The staff was excellent and very helpful (they helped us from finding restaurants to gyms), the food was amazing (the restaurant is know to be one of the best in San Jose) and the room was spacious, clean and very quiet. I have to admit that the location is not optimal, but it is only a quick taxi ride to the center, and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon. Simply put it was the best food either of us have ever had and we live in DC and have dined at places like Citranelle. It was worth staying there rather than elsewhere and taking a taxi for breakfast and dinner and at $150 a night it was the best bang for our buck of the whole trip. San Jose is NOT a pretty town and most of the other hotels are right in the middle of all the trash that litters the otherwise beautiful streets. The Grano de Oro is 5 minutes outside the historic center and in a much cleaner district. The room was large and comfortable but the only downside was it was located on a side of the building that faced a busy street. We were woken up by 6 every morning. Most of the other standard rooms had their own little garden patio and if we ever go back to Costa Rica we'll either get one of those or the hotel's master suite. Service was excellent. One day we left our camera in the taxi that the concierge hailed for us. We simply called the hotel and they tracked down the cab that they hailed. 15 minutes later our wedding pictures were back in our possession. If you must stay in San Jose stay in The Hotel Grano de Oro.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing