We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option but service not so warm..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good option but service not so warm..”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel has great history, it´s a very nice option, maybe the best in Costa Rica, but as mentioned before in other reviews, I consider a luxury property when they have not only a nice infrastructure, but also when serve makes you feel they care, and much.

In this case hotel is very well maintained, food is very good but staff is concentrated in administration only, beyond that not much.. I think they should pay attention to this matter as they already have all the rest!!

Patio room environment is so good as it has it`s own fountain! that is so cool.. Room was very clean and room was queen, that was good too.

Hotel restaurant can´t get full very easily as is also an attraction for tourists so make sure to make a reservation and let them clear you are a guest.

There is no SPA or gym at the hotel, only a massage room, just keep that in mind if you like to make exercise.

Room Tip: Patio room is relaxing and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEX-Concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    391
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
294
1,044
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here in March picked this hotel not only based on the TA reviews, but the comments from other travel sources. We arrived around 4 in the afternoon after traveling about 7 hours. We were hot and tired. It was so nice that as soon as we approached the front desk, they brought us glasses of a really nice fruit drink. I don't know what it was, but is was very refreshing. Just what we needed. This hotel really is an oasis in San Jose', a city which is nothing that special. After our one hour walk through the rather loud and unimpressive city, it was really nice to come back to such a lovely hotel. We only stayed one night, but we tried to make the most of it. We bought a few presents for family in their small, but quality gift shop. I'm told all of the items there are purely Costa Rican (unlike so many other gift shops around the country). We had dinner the night we stayed and the food was quite good, but the service was a tad slow (and it was not a weekend night). Our room on the second floor was perfect. I have never seen a garden inside of a hotel room, but we had one here. It was a really nice and unexpected touch. I actually didn't even notice that there was no window in the room till the next morning. This was because there was clear glass that served as the roof of the garden so light and a breeze came through (which is very important to me). The wood in the room itself was a beautiful dark stain and appeared to be a high quality wood. The whole room felt like it was designed by someone who really had a creative touch. I loved the bathroom as well. In the morning, we ate breakfast in the courtyard area. This was really pretty and I loved that part of the bar was in this area. The thought crossed my mind that if I was to have stayed a second night, that it would be so relaxing to have a drink in this bar. It was quite a unique and pretty design. I had never tried mango juice, but did this day and it was fantastic!! I had the banana pancakes and they were wonderful. What a great send off breakfast before our flight. I liked this hotel so much, I am already planning to work it into my next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The garden room was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited Grano de Oro in March for two one-night stays. The property is very quaint and well maintained. Staff is friendly and professional. Rooftop sundeck and jacuzzi were a very nice treat. Easy 20 minute cab to/from the airport. Walking distance to several nice restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Grano de Oro is a small, but very classy hotel. Like much of San Jose, the surrounding neighborhood was nothing special, but inside is a oasis of style and excellence. Our room was tiny, but we were only there one night, and it was clean and well furnished. Had birthday dinner at the formal restaurant. Excellent food and wine selections, with very attentive service ($$$$). The breakfast in the courtyard was delicious, and the open air made it refreshing but cozy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We only spent one night at the Grano de Oro on our way into the country, but what a wonderful way to start our trip. Comfortable room, lovely ambiance, outstanding restaurant with a beautiful courtyard,nice whirlpool to soak away the flight, and a helpful staff. We did not arrange any tours or activities, but the hotel staff certainly seemed able to provide those services. Expensive by San Jose standards but quite affordable by US standards. I would recommend this peaceful spot for anyone staying in San Jose. Speaking of which, there is only one day's worth of activities in downtown San Jose--no need to stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor courtyard room. The windows are open for ventilation which was quite com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincyJoe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a short but lovely stay here. Staff were first rate, the room was very nice and the amenities were very good. The best thing about our stay was eating in the lovely restaurant, dinner and cocktails were exquisite and breakfast was also top notch. The worst thing was visiting down town San Jose, not really worth bothering with, but that's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolvesblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 3 nights in total at this wonderful hotel, 2 when we started our holiday before going to Arenal and Monteverde and the 3rd before flying down to the Osa Peninsular to continue our holiday.

Our rooms were stylish, comfortable and extremely clean with all modern conveniences but still retaining their Spanish origins. The breakfasts were served in an open air courtyard with a fountain playing in the centre. Dinner was served either in the courtyard or in the dining room surrounding it, the service was excellent, very attentive with a wonderful selection on the menus.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to even the most discerning traveller - it's wonderful.

San Jose city itself not worth spending much time in though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing