We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Nearby Hotels
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$98
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
1,373
426
60
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,373
426
60
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgarden suitevictorian mansionone nightcosta ricaboutique hotelopen courtyardlast nightlovely rooman oasisnext morningstandard roomwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotellong flightcentral marketclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel in November. Everything was wonderful. The rooms were beautiful, all of the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the food was excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 71GRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Grano de Oro for the last few days of our honeymoon. Our room was one of several that was situated around a small garden courtyard that was beautiful. That made it feel much more like staying at home than in a hotel. The room itself was very nice, with hardwood floors, comfortable beds, and a nicely stocked mini-bar.

The hotel staff was very helpful, which I greatly appreciated because unlike the tourist areas where we'd spent the first part of our trip to Costa Rica, San Jose wasn't quite as easy to navigate for non-Spanish speakers. The hotel staff helped me arrange taxi service, book tours, and get to the airport smoothly.

We also enjoyed the food and beverage selections at the hotel's restaurant. Our only complaint with Grano de Oro is that it wasn't quite as close to the central city as we'd hoped, but that was just a minor inconvenience and I'm still very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for one night before flying back home. Very charming hotel, quite small but cozy and very clean rooms, beautiful common areas, nice-looking restaurant (food OK), 10 min taxi ride to the airport. Cute souvenir shop on premises. Spa available, handy after trekking through the jungles for a week. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have always preferred the small boutique hotel category over the generic chains and this hotel is no exception. Situated in a rather grand house, a leisurely stroll from the city centre, Hotel Grano de Ora oozes ambience and makes a welcomed retreat from busy San Jose. We stayed for five nights and dined 'in house' every night at their excellent restaurant - it is the best choice in town. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully presented and boasted all the modern conveniences including free wifi. We appreciated the coffee trolley (in the foyer) on those very early starts to our tours. Service was prompt and professional though a tad stiff but all in all I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuitcaseTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in Grano de Oro on the first night of our honeymoon after arriving in San Jose following hours and hours of flying. First impressions of the hotel are stunning, the building is beautiful and the water features at the entrance really add to the atmosphere. We were given a welcoming fruit drink which was lovely and shown to our room by a friendly porter. We received a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room rather than the standard one we had booked which was very nice indeed, especially after such a long trip. The room itself was gorgeous, massive bed and bathroom and the highlight was our own private terrace with fountain! Regrettably we were leaving for our next destination early the following morning so we didn't get to fully appreciate the hotel but in any case I would not hesitate in recommending it as the best hotel in San Jose!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karenski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews