We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool boutique hotel, a bit further from central city than we'd hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cool boutique hotel, a bit further from central city than we'd hoped”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Grano de Oro for the last few days of our honeymoon. Our room was one of several that was situated around a small garden courtyard that was beautiful. That made it feel much more like staying at home than in a hotel. The room itself was very nice, with hardwood floors, comfortable beds, and a nicely stocked mini-bar.

The hotel staff was very helpful, which I greatly appreciated because unlike the tourist areas where we'd spent the first part of our trip to Costa Rica, San Jose wasn't quite as easy to navigate for non-Spanish speakers. The hotel staff helped me arrange taxi service, book tours, and get to the airport smoothly.

We also enjoyed the food and beverage selections at the hotel's restaurant. Our only complaint with Grano de Oro is that it wasn't quite as close to the central city as we'd hoped, but that was just a minor inconvenience and I'm still very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,037
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for one night before flying back home. Very charming hotel, quite small but cozy and very clean rooms, beautiful common areas, nice-looking restaurant (food OK), 10 min taxi ride to the airport. Cute souvenir shop on premises. Spa available, handy after trekking through the jungles for a week. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have always preferred the small boutique hotel category over the generic chains and this hotel is no exception. Situated in a rather grand house, a leisurely stroll from the city centre, Hotel Grano de Ora oozes ambience and makes a welcomed retreat from busy San Jose. We stayed for five nights and dined 'in house' every night at their excellent restaurant - it is the best choice in town. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully presented and boasted all the modern conveniences including free wifi. We appreciated the coffee trolley (in the foyer) on those very early starts to our tours. Service was prompt and professional though a tad stiff but all in all I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcaseTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in Grano de Oro on the first night of our honeymoon after arriving in San Jose following hours and hours of flying. First impressions of the hotel are stunning, the building is beautiful and the water features at the entrance really add to the atmosphere. We were given a welcoming fruit drink which was lovely and shown to our room by a friendly porter. We received a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room rather than the standard one we had booked which was very nice indeed, especially after such a long trip. The room itself was gorgeous, massive bed and bathroom and the highlight was our own private terrace with fountain! Regrettably we were leaving for our next destination early the following morning so we didn't get to fully appreciate the hotel but in any case I would not hesitate in recommending it as the best hotel in San Jose!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very nice hotel, very professional with a great restaurant! The staff was smart, helpful and kind. The room was clean and modern with a very comfortable bed! The hotel is in an old house from decades ago.....lots of character but modern in every way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in San Jose' at the start of our 46 days in Costa Rica and wanted to experience downtown San Jose'. The Hotel Grano de Oro is a short 20 min taxi ride from the airport and in a great location in downtown San Jose'. One day in San Jose' is enough as you can see most of what it has to offer in the very busy place. The Hotel however is well worth the trip from the airport as an over night stay. The rooms are 1st class as are the beds and quality of the staff. Right from the reception the staff were incredibly happy and helpful! The restaurant is not to be missed as you will not find anything close to its quality anywhere within Costa Rica. Great start to our trip. Anytime we have an overnight stay in San Jose' we will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: All 40 rooms are unique, ours was on the 1st floor and very quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is without question the best hotel in town. Despite only staying one night with an early morning departure, we are very glad we stayed at Hotel Gran de Oro. I am very grateful for the incredibly restful sleep I enjoyed. There are not too many hotels that allow me that luxury.

We also had the pleasure of enjoying dinner at the onsite restaurant. It is no bargain but the food and setting made it worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing