We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$116
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$84
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,906)
Filter reviews
1,906 results
Traveler rating
1,384
426
59
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,384
426
59
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgarden suitevictorian mansionrooftop jacuzzione nightcosta ricaboutique hotellast nightopen courtyardlovely rooman oasisnext morningstandard roomwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotellong flightcentral market
Filter
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 1,906 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is without question the best hotel in town. Despite only staying one night with an early morning departure, we are very glad we stayed at Hotel Gran de Oro. I am very grateful for the incredibly restful sleep I enjoyed. There are not too many hotels that allow me that luxury.

We also had the pleasure of enjoying dinner at the onsite restaurant. It is no bargain but the food and setting made it worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff made my 3-night visit in September an absolute pleasure. Some rooms may be small but they are well appointed and comfortable. I was lucky to get an upgrade to a larger room with an attached courtyard on my 3rd night - a pity I wasn't there longer to enjoy it more. Transfers arranged through the hotel were efficient and reasonably priced. Food was great. I would definitely return to the hotel should I return to San Jose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodwellusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is incredible. It is beautiful inside and out. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were prompt with wake up calls and handled scheduling all of our transfers to and from the hotel. They recommended restaurants and shopping in San Jose, and warned us of areas to avoid. There was someone at the front desk all day and night. When we arrived at the beginning of our honeymoon, we were offered fresh, cool juice at check-in, someone took our bags to our room and showed us where everything was and how to work the safe, TV, etc., and there was fresh fruit waiting in our room. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was great. The area was nice, but you didn't have to wear black tie or even fancy clothes to eat there. We traveled to Nayara for the week and then came back to Grano de Oro for a night before flying home. When we came back, they automatically upgraded our room to a bigger, more secluded room without us asking, simply because we were return guests! It's very nice, very clean, and just an awesome experience.

Room Tip: Some are more off the beaten path than others, but we didn't have issues with our room on the main path.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbfa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The group at Grano de Oro was extremely helpful at organizing a transfer from the airport to the hotel for a low price of $35 and made it seamless to get the transfer and find the driver at the airport.

Upon arriving we had a beautiful fruit plate in our room, a great drink from the front desk and the staff at the front desk, especially Wymar (spelling?). We got in late and wanted some quick but fresh (not chain) pizza. The corner (a block and a half away) had fabulous pizza and delivered to the hotel.

The hotel set up our day long tour of the coffee plantation, Poas volcanos, and Peace lodge and waterfalls. A highly recommended tour! It was a fabulous way to see the nature surrounding San Jose before we headed off to our resort.

The staff was courteous and accommodating during the entire stay. Breakfast is worth it at the restaurant, we felt that dinner was a bit over priced and not that great.... :/

A great stay in the city!

Room Tip: Visto d Oro suite is large, clean, the private jacuzzi tub looks out to the city and you have a beautiful view of the greenery and hot tub terrace below. The room is worth it for the size and luxury.
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank torcoberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely. The hotel has been rennovated from a Victorian mansion and is very nicely done. The hotel is a little out of the city centre, about 20 minutes walk, but this does mean that it is a very peaceful escape from the hussle and bussle of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews