We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jose's Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon since we flew into San Jose. It sits right in the heart of San Jose, but once you step foot inside, feels like a great escape.

It's very quite, calm and relaxing. We had the Gran de Oro Suite and it is beautiful! Hard wood floors and decor, a hot tub in our bedroom. It overlooked the city and the outdoor hot tubs also.

We both got 90 minute massages in the hotel's spa and it was the best massage either of us have ever had!

The food is very delicious and reasonably priced if you are up for a fancier meal. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious and the atmosphere...so nice! Everyone who works there is very professional and very friendly!

Room Tip: If you are up for a real treat, choose the Gran de Oro Suite. It's worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBethGinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel - the staff was super friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The restaurant was excellent and I was more than comfortable in my room. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or passing through San Jose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wykydkytten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the best place I've stayed, seen, or heard of in San Jose. Outstanding staff, well appointed rooms, a fine onsite restaurant. The tranquility created by the courtyard makes each room a refuge from the city noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Grano de Oro for 2 days in August 2013 as a family with one toddler. The hotel, which is located about 20-25 minutes of a walk from the core downtown, is certainly very very nice. The staff is very attentive and immediately makes you feel welcome. The reception staff is fantastic, with one of the longest serving staff members (Pablo) making you feel welcome from the first moment you arrive. Rooms are also very good. We had the deluxe room with the patio. Excellent all around -- clean, airy, well lit, and with a nice if small patio where you can sit and read/eat (has a small table and 2-3 chairs).

The experience with reservations is also very good, with a very responsive email service to answer all your questions.

I would also highly recommend the restaurant, which has great food and service and a very impressive wine selection. It's a bit expensive for dinner, but then again, should be expected as CR generally is not as cheap as a tourist destination but also because the restaurant is very good with high end service, food quality, and ambiance. As an aside, we hired a babysitter through the hotel to watch our kid while we had dinner here, and she did a good job (albeit having to mainly watch over the sleeping baby).

The hotel set up a coffee plantation tour for us with Britt Coffee. A fun 2-3 hour tour with lunch.

Room Tip: The patio rooms are very nice, we were in 37 -- quiet and peaceful. Fun corridors to wind through to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were only here for one night, but it was really lovely. We are a family of four, and had booked a family suite at the hotel for our first night in Costa Rica before moving on to Tortuguero. Very roomy, very nice. The staff at the hotel were just exceptional! You got the feeling that they would go to any length to make your stay wonderful. We were treated so kindly, and we loved the atmosphere at the hotel. The restaurant was also amazing!

Room Tip: Family suite was wonderful with kids and could easily accommodate a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Even though this hotel and restaurant were pricey we weren't disappointed at all. Our room was #4 which had windows that overlooked a small garden. Room was clean and well appointed and very relaxing. Dinner and breakfast were good. Staff were friendly and accommodated us on our early rush breakfast the next morning before we departed for our next destination. The hotel is a nice gem in the midst of a bustling big city. We did go for a rather long walk around San Jose and found it to be like any big city with it's traffic, exhaust fumes, smells, crowded sidewalks, etc. Contrary to what some people have mentioned here I didn't really feel that safe, even with my husband being with me, especially over near the city park area. I wouldn't want to walk around town at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streetsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is THE place to stay if you decide to stay in San Jose (we found the town itself doesn't have that much to offer).The decorations are spot on and the restaurant is incredible. The staff is excellent and we enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof top.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $173 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing