We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vista De Oro Suite and Restaurant 5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Vista De Oro Suite and Restaurant 5 Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We only got to enjoy this lovely boutique hotel for one night on our way out of the country. We stayed in the Vista De Oro Suite, which was spacious and luxurious with a beautiful city lights view of the city from the large picture window wall. We also had a private Jacuzzi inside the suite and a private entrance to the suite on the top floor of the hotel. It was beautifully decorated with old world dark wood paneling and furnished with very comfortable and colonial style furniture. The bathroom was also spacious with luxurious linens and towels. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was the best we had in Costa Rica and of high standard for anywhere. I understand why it has been voted the finest restaurant in Costa Rica. The beautiful evening open air setting just added to the ambiance. Breakfast the next morning was also quite good. The public areas and check in check out experiences were all outstanding. The only concern I had was that some of the other rooms appeared quite small looking through the windows on our way to ours. Would we stay again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Vista De Oro Suite worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    388
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
286
1,027
56
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I can't say much more than has already been said about this property. The service, the hotel, the rooms, the food, everything is excellent. We spent one night here on our trip to Costa Rica in April of 2013 and really loved it. Highly recommended.

Also for LGB travelers, we can say that this hotel is definitely gay-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AustinANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This Hotel was definitely a perfect choice for our last night in SanJose! We had a plumbing issue first thing and in 15 minutes it was fixed. That is #1 customer service!
Our dining experience was beyond our expectations!! Fine dining at it's greatest! Service was exemplary and the Hotel staff deserves more than a great hand of applause; maybe a well deserved bonus! Each and everyone at Grano de Oro made our stay unforgettable and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 5 days here it is the perfect way to spend time in the city while also feeling like you are still on a natural getaway. The decor is beautiful with plants, trees, and natural finishes throughout. We got a delux room and and it came with a private patio, which was fantastic. The service is top notch, and the restaurant has very good food. It is a little pricey, but it is well worth it for what you get. The hotel is right in the city so it is within walking distance of most everything so it is very convenient. It is the perfect way to visit the city while also enjoying peace, and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything about this hotel exudes class. The hotel is very professionally run. The staff are attentive and your comfort is their pleasure. Can't say enough about the staff. The entire facility is beautifully decorated and the rooms are totally up to date regarding furnishings and fixtures. The restaurant is gorgeous. The food was good, not outstanding, but very adequate. We walked from the hotel to central San Jose and saw nothing that even approaches the beauty of this property, thus my description of an oasis. It truly is. If you are staying in San Jose, look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snoozedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sadly we had both come down with something and were unable to fully enjoy this spectacular hotel. The decor throughout is incredible, from the lobby to the rooms. The restaurant and bar area in particular with its courtyard and beautifully lit lounge seating area is stunning. The standard double we stayed had a lovely bed, bright, clean bathroom and large TV with plenty of channels (nice when you're feeling ill!). The staff were very friendly and the restaurant gave us some tea on the house because we were unable to eat dinner. Hopefully one day we'll be back in Costa Rica to enjoy the Grano de Oro fully!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I found several offers in the web for going to Costa Rica for a long weekend, and found this hotel with good reviews and nice pictures. We decided to go in a very open minded mood, thinking of it as a place to sleep in a centered location... Oh dear, it was so much more!!! Starting with the gentleman opening our taxi door, the front ( so pretty and clean), the lobby, then the front desk, the entire structure (walls and ceilings, stairways), the room, the facilities, the restaurant and the food...it is just the biggest WOW! You might experience. We knew, it is a small place, still, the comforts and overall, the people makes it the top ranks in my places to go again and again. Have no doubt, by choosing Grano de Oro, you are doing a sure deal.

Rada

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rada_ayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing