We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last night in Costa Rica!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect last night in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was such a charming hotel and much more than we expected. The restaurant was amazing!!! Beautiful property with great service. I would recommend this to anyone, but especially as a first or last stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the second floor in the original building. It had a beautiful bed with vault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IUMANGO212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    390
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
291
1,043
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon for one night. This is a beautiful hotel! The staff were all friendly and accommodating. One member in particular went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of - like getting us a bag full of ice for our beers! :)
The grounds are well maintained and there is a beautifully landscaped terrace upstairs with two hot-tubs that we took full advantage of after exploring the city!

Restaurant:
We dined at the hotel's main restaurant. The food was delicious! Dressing up a little wouldn't hurt as the atmosphere is very sophisticated and classy! The food was delicious! However... it's one of those places where it's a tad pricey and your very large plate only has a palmful of food on it! At least that's what we found when we ordered our $12 scallop appetizer - which we thought we would share - but it came with ONE scallop, that we ended up splitting in two. IT was delicious though - and we had a good laugh!

Even though this place is a little too 'posh' for us jeans and t-shirt kids, the hotel is really nice, staff is great, and we definitely enjoyed our stay here!!

Thank you for the great experience :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A building full of character, clean and comfortable rooms with entrance and windows on beautiful patio gardens, a five star restaurant, a friendly and helpful staff, and that all at affordable prices. The neighbourhood is not as beautiful, but that does not matter at all. Don't miss this lovely place when visiting San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aadbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has to be a must. The building is fascinating with bags of character. It is in fact fairly large but seems to achieve the effect of seeming small and intimate. The staff were charming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed at the beginning of our trip and the end and both times everyone was helpful and made our stay so pleasant and comfortable. Our last night allowing us sometime in the jacuzzi on the roof and in the restaurant was a perfect end to our holiday.The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable (wonderful pillows) with well equiped bathrooms.The hotel is in a city so some noise is to be expected but by bedtime, which seems to be early in Costa Rica, all was very quiet and we had very restful nights. If you want to make your holiday really special this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our stay at this lovely boutique hotel was perfect. From the greetings to our farewells everything was absolutely charming. Clean, comfortable and room with a private courtyard. The restaurant served delicious foods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pret3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This environmentally sustained boutique hotel was a sheer delight. The design of the former manor makes every spacious room feel private and it gave us the sense we were the only ones there. Our room overlooked a small courtyard/garden that was the home to several unusual birds - delightful. The restaurant sat in the middle of the hotel and had a charming outdoor courtyard section. Our food was excellent and the tres leches cake was like a slice of heaven! The wait staff were friendly and courteous and very helpful.
The friendly personnel, combined with the design of the building made me feel as if I had stepped back in time to a gentler era. Their efforts to make a minimal impact on the planet made it even more enjoyable. I loved this place and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beenhereforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Lovely colonial design with beautiful woodwork. The restaurant is in the center of the building and you can enjoy meals alfresco. The food was wonderful. Our room was spacious and clean. The rental car agency even dropped our rental car there. There's a good reason why this place is rated #1.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
943 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing