We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful start and finish to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is lovely. The roof terrace was empty every time we went up. The rooms are well equipped but the real gem is the food. Though a little pricey it's very very good. The passion fruit margaritas should also be tried. We started and finished a 4 week trip her as a bit of bling. And it was everything we wanted.

Room Tip: Passion fruit Margarita!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had an early morning flight so wanted to be close to the airport. The pictures do not do justice- what a gorgeous hotel and a beautiful dining room. We asked for a wake up call and it was received at the correct time. Dinner was delicious and the dining room is very romantic. Our room was in a court yard garden with windows open. bathroom was wonderful. Highly recommend and I never thought I would say it but I am looking forward to our next vist to San Jose and the Hotel Grano de Oro! I would be happy to answer anyone's questions.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I selected this hotel to have dinner for Christmas Eve as it was my last night in Costa Rica and we needed to be closer to the airport. This hotel is nice enough, I would even say beautiful but it is not in a nice area of town. That being said, I do not think there is a nice part of San Jose, CR. However, I think that the person who trains this staff needs to teach a lesson in humility, as these are some of the most snobby staff I've ever had to deal with and I have traveled quite a bit. Yes, it's a nice restaurant, but not the nicest. Yes, the food is good, but it is not great and yes, it's a pretty hotel, but it's in the middle of San Jose, which is a very very depressed neighborhood. There is no need for the uppity attitude given because if it's one facet that makes a place stand out, it's great service and they do not have it here. The waiters are snobs, the bartender is a snob and they take forever in putting your bill together after dinner. I can't understand why there are so many friendly people in Costa Rica, but this place managed to hire all of the creeps.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent one night in San Jose so that we could catch an early return flight. After a lot of research on Trip Advisor I selected Hotel Grano de Oro because it was rated highly. I'm not sure if other rooms are more spacious or our expectations were too hi after the other fantastic hotels during our trip but I was not overwhelmed. The room worked for one night and for it being our last one of the trip but I would have been disappointed if it were the start of our vacation. The room was small and the bathroom was too small to accommodate more than one person at a time -- which made the logistics of getting up early for a flight that much more challenging. Our room started hot but the A/C eventually kicked in and we slept well. Walking around the terraces was nice at night. I would like to see them during the day to see if they live up to other's reviews.

Room Tip: Room 13 was at the top of the stairs nearest the lobby. We didn't hear any lobby or street noise...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmanningtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After driving through heavy, heavy traffic from the San Jose Airport, our cab stopped in front of an oasis in all the chaos! As other reviews mention, the Hotel Grano de Oro was converted from 3 Victorian-era houses. Our room was "smallish" but very comfortable and a few steps away from a roof terrace. All amenities were perfect--beds, lighting, bathroom etc. And the food for dinner and breakfast was outstanding. Both of us had sea bass prepared differently for dinner--delicious, as were the accompaniments. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Second time in San Jose, first time at the Gran de Orno.
This hotel is in the middle of San Jose, not the best area, not a bad area. but very convenient.
The structure was formerly the home of a wealthy businessman, It's beautiful and the rooms are large.
The staff is attentive and the food here is delicious. If you want to stay at a top notch hotel and have some of the best food in Costa Rica. Stay here..
Coffee served at 6am and remains in lobby until restaurant opens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailer Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grano de Oro for our last night in Costa Rica -- our guide recommended it because it is close to San Jose's airport. While convenient, it is also a very nice little hotel that helped us end our vacation on a high note.

Grano de Oro is a small hotel, actually converted from a Victorian-era mansion in San Jose. Our rooms were, you might say, "cozy." Still, they were very nice, each with a small outside patio area. We found the staff to be quite friendly and polite.

The restaurant in this hotel is its biggest selling point, I believe. It is outstanding. We had dinner and breakfast, and both meals were simply top notch.

Drawbacks? Its wireless internet was quirky -- on again, off again. That was no big deal for us, but it might be for business travelers. Also, its small size prevents it from offering much beyond comfortable rooms and a winning restaurant. There is a small jacuzzi upstairs, but it was occupied by a couple who obviously wanted some private time. Anyway, my young kids were a little bored.

I rated the hotel's location as poor simply because it is located in San Jose. Sadly, the capital city of beautiful Costa Rica is itself pretty wretched. I would not recommend walking in the area around the hotel.

I was quite pleased with Grano de Oro. I think it would work best for couples, but many business travelers and families will also enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rorytory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $159 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing