We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here two nights upon arrival in San Jose. Very nice room in the original part of the hotel. It was smallish but had a lovely enclosed patio that gave more room. The appointments throughout the hotel are wonderful--old pictures and etc. There is also a lovely enclosed gardens with rooms fronting it. The restaurant was good--not great but good enough. Great soups and a lovely bar. Very nice staff. They did wake us up an hour earlier than we requested but that's better than an hour too late. Highly recommend this hotel. swm

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWM8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,037
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A really beautiful rambling building, with comfortable rooms, this is a fine way to begin to step into Costa Rica after arriving from elsewhere, if you are going to spend any time in San Jose itself.

We only spent one night in the Grano de Oro--we flew in in the afternoon, and were picked up at 6 a.m. to leave to river raft on to our next stop (the spectacular Pacuare Lodge). Others were clearly doing something similar, as the early morning lobby (with coffee ready for us all) was filled. You are welcomed on arrival with a glass of tropical juice.

It's a terrific place to stay, and would be for longer. A big rambling wooden building with interior courtyards, small fountains, conservatory area filled with labelled tropical plants, two small rooftop hot plunges side by side. The opposite of a corporate hotel in every way--shuttered windows and the feeling of a real place. Not a hyper-luxurious "boutique" hotel in feeling--except for the grandeur of the restaurante perhaps--but the sheets are great, the bathrooms very nice and very clean, and everything about it felt right. The staff, as everywhere in Costa Rica, was warm, friendly, and helpful.

Our room was good sized and comfortable, with a small desk, a coffee making set up, internet, tv if you wanted, everything you'd need. The restaurant is gorgeous--a destination in itself--and all the food was terrific. I recommend the seemingly simple Tres Leches Cake for dessert. This is "the dessert of the country," and a nice introduction to Tico cooking, unexpectedly interesting of texture and delicious.

This hotel is tucked a little away from the city center, and it's not a long walk to go to see the Vegetable and Fruit Market and Central Market--WELL worth doing, especially the vegetable and fruit market is a feast and a revelation for the eyes, and not a tourist attraction. You walk through a district of hospitals to get there, and that's kind of interesting too (Costa Rica has free health care for all).

So in sum: lovely, welcoming, a place you can breathe in the beginning of a new country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Grano de Oro certainly earns its number one spot for San Jose. The staff display not only courtesy, but also intelligence, anticipating the guest's questions and needs. The building is lovely, a warren of corridors and rooms in an updated mansion. The plants are marvelous, especially in the little private garden off our room. I see papyrus, philodendron, stag horn ferns, anthurium, and others I can't identify. The fountain makes a soothing babble. What a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: By all means, choose a room with a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Enjoyed two stays at this hotel. Very comfortable bed in cozy room. Staff members are gracious and helpful. The restaurant is beautiful and offers a decent menu but I would have enjoyed riper and tastier tomatoes in caprese salad as well as zestier sauces. More typical CR dishes would also enhance the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel! The rooms are well appointed, relaxing and quiet. I highly recommend this hotel. Their restaurant is 5 star good!! Beautiful and elegant with the most professional, friendly staff I've experienced in years. The food is outstanding as are the wines they serve. We stayed there twice and each time was memorable.

No pool, but they have two hot tubs and provide very nice towels for free. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before taking a Windstar cruise. This hotel was as lovely and wonderful as the cruise. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, which must have been the servants' quarters or storage at one time. But that didn't matter--the room was quite spacious, the bed super comfortable, and we had a delightful private patio with a fountain and goldfish! Dinner and breakfast in the mansion's former living room and courtyard are not to be missed. The food is wonderful, but the ambience is worth even more than the price of the dinner. I absolutely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again given the opportuntiy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

If you stayin this lovely old hotel you have to have ear plugs if you are at the front of hotel they do supply the plugs in the room but if you have you are a light sleeper ask for a quite room if there are any my partner had no sleep.
Food is good services good location good but if only it was sound proof.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing