We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gran De Oro, San Jose, Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Gran De Oro, San Jose, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A fabulous hotel in the heart of San Jose. This hotel is an old mansion that was turned into a hotel about 20 to 25 years ago. The rooms are a little small, but it is wonderful and the staff is very accommodating. Besides the homey feeling of the hotel, it has on of the best restaurants in San Jose. It is a 5 star restaurant. I can't say enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are larger than others with bigger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    339
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
244
914
46
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Food great, room beautiful,location ok just don't wander around at night, pricey overall but it's great quality .... I stayed there overnight before heading to manuel Antonio...had to stay elsewhere on my return home and boy was I missing the grano! No comparison .. Place is very upscale and classy .. No wonder y rooms sell out fast..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel Grano de Oro was our reprieve in the noisy San Jose. From the moment you pull up to the hotel... you know it will be an incredible experience. The staff was WONDERFUL - kind, helpful (even when we called from other cities), generous and made our stay perfect. The rooms were lovely, the restaurant served quality meals and the outside sitting area by the jacuzzi was the best way to end the day. We didn't spend much time in San Jose but stayed at the Grano de Oro when we arrived and before we departed - and our stays there were the perfect start and ending to our trip. Gerald was fantastic - he helped us navigate not just San Jose but the whole country. He's insight, and desire to provide surplus value positively impacted our whole trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is everything that is promised. You can easily walk downtown and to various museums, markets and sights. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms. The staff is great, they are attentive and extremely helpful. Their restaurant is excellent and very fairly priced. I would definitely return and highly recommend a stay here when in San Jose!

Room Tip: if you are beside a fountain ask the staff to turn if off for the night and they are happy to do thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Grano de Oro many times and it is always a delight. The hotel is lovely with very well appointed rooms. Some rooms have outdoor patios. The restaurant is very good, room service is good and extremely fast. The best part about Hotel Grano de Oro though is the people. The service at this hotel is impeccable. The people are warm and friendly and always extremely helpful. If you find yourself in San Jose, Costa Rica, for one night or many, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an outdoor patio. Maybe you'll get one with a fountain and goldlfish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJonesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Attention to detail, room quality, service was outstanding! Just felt like we were in Paradise. I would give it another star if it was by a beach! We had 2 nights here and it was bliss - so much so I wanted to stay and enjoy the property for longer but not so sure about San Jose itself. Had New Year's eve dinner here and the food was delicious - thank you so much. Your staff were excellent. Nice easy stroll to the centre of town also!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a lovely mansion with rooms of little courtyards with lots of green.
Loved the restaurant that has a great menu and service. There is a courtyard in the middle of the mansion and we loved sitting there - just lovely!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GI_JoeOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing