We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant in City Hotel without Peer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a night at the Grano. It's an elegant small hotel a mile or so from the heart of San Jose. It has no peer within the city and is a 5 minute cab ride from the sights. The Marriott, it's closest competitor may be bigger with nice grounds, but it is way outside the city. The restaurant and bar are very fine and the staff was friendly. The best in town hotel in San Jose. Worth the price.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Suite. Splurge if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arrived in the rain at Grano de Oro. Curbside Bell hops waiting with umbrellas, grabbed the bags and assisted us into the lobby. From that moment, our stay was flawless and perfect and quite a welcome change from 10 days in the Costa Rican "jungle". Room was spotless. Bed was very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was magical and wonderful with Mauricio as our server. We have found a new home away from home when in San Jose! These people know how to run a hotel.

Room Tip: 1st level room overlooking the courtyard was great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdmmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved the restaurant - amazing food. It was our first dinner in CR so we could try some nice typical food - I liked the soups as the starter. You have to try their exotic combination in different flavour! I would definately love them making a cooking course during our stay :-)
I had also a facial treatment - amazing one and a great back massage - would love to come back!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adriana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The place is beautiful but here were my complaints:
There were two jacuzzis and only one was in use due to maintenance. The one that was usable was colder than bath water and it would have been nice to be able to relax before our long flight the next day
The room on the second floor shakes intermittently, almost like a small earthquake.
The room was extremely noisy from the outside street noise which kept us from our sleep
Other than that, the rooms are spacious and the staff are the most professional of the ones we experienced on a two week trip through 5 cities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently stayed at Grano De Oro on a layover to the Osa peninsula. The service was impeccable. Jorge the Bellman was extremely helpful. We had dinner in restaurant to celebrate our 34 anniversary and found the food to be visually stunning and wonderfully delicious!! We lead Yoga retreats to different Latin American countries and we will definitely put Grano de Oro on the list of " must do" places.

Room Tip: Our "Standard" room opening into the Atrium was stunning.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5809Yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is a pearl in a big city. We stayed here on our way to other locations in Costa Rica. It is so lovely! The staff is friendly and very, very helpful. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast. We usually like to go out to dinner and never eat in hotels. This is an exception. The food is beautifully prepared and tasty. It makes no sence to look any further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed just one night at the Hotel Gran de Oro in San Jose, after having arrived there by bus from the south coast. I have to say it could well be the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I have stayed in a lot and am quite picky. Warm, welcoming staff, superbly clean room and furnishings with a large window open above the rooftops, beautiful bed and bathroom and wonderful dinner in a fabulous setting. I was on my own as my husband was heading up to Montreal for a conference, and I had to leave early the next morning on the long flight back to Sydney, Australia. The night at the Gran de Oro was just what I needed before the long journey. Honestly, just a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $159 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing