We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Style and Colonial Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic Style and Colonial Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

San José is a friendly place but not terribly attractive, so for a base for 2 days before flying home, Hotel Grano de Oro was perfect. A stylish mansión lovingly extended so that you'd hardly tell the new part. Restaurant was fab. Not cheap but very good value. Maybe ask for a standard room with view/external windows, as we had interior room, and while it was plush
it was a bit pokey.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
286
1,028
56
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first night of our vacation in Costa Rica, and it was a great initial exposure for the Costa Rican experience! "Attention to detail" best describes this establishment, which also houses a most exquisite restaurant. The food was excellent, and on Saturday evening they had live music and dancing too. The room was exceptionally clean, with a focus on all of the little details. The room we stayed in had an outdoor patio with a fountain and a little pond, which actually contained live fish! The beds were very comfortable and the room was elegantly furnished, bathroom was super clean and stylish, and the service was very gracious and accommodating. We will definitely return to this establishment on our next visit to San Jose.

Room Tip: I am guessing they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanJav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice hotel and nice restaurant. Service was great, everything clean and it's a unique building. But There is nothing around the hotel its very run down. If you Want to stay in San Jose though I'm sure this is as good as any.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDC2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Although I didn't stay there, I did have a delicious brunch there with friends and also explored some rooms. (The date was in the spring of 2009, but that wasn't a date choice from trip advisor.) It is a lovely hotel with excellent decor on the fringes of downtown San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a fantastic hotel and an unbelievable value in San Jose. It was the perfect way to end our trip, being pampered in a gorgeous and immaculate historic hotel in downtown. The food at the French restaurant on site was delicious and the service was excellent. The beds were very comfortable, the room was elegant and spotless, and the staff was corteous and professional.

I have nothing bad to say about Grano de Oro, I will make it part of my itinerary on every future trio to Costa Rica.

WARNING- do not use Google maps for directions to Grano de Oro, we spent over an hour lost in San Jose after trying to follow their directions. Call the hotel directly and have them help you find it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmrbluewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

it is for me one of the most beautiful hotels in the capital of costa rica, i would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to have hight quality service and also a great restaurant inside the place, this restaurant is french and the trio de salmon is one of the best plates. you would not be sorry for going here it is a great hotel totally recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanRojasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were traveling with our family and wanted a nice quiet place to stay after some hectic driving and adventure travel in Costa Rica. It was in a nice location and we had an updated smallish room that had a great bed, sheets and nice updated bathroom. We had a very good dinner at the hotel restaurant and we had great service during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing