We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Jose
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,014)
Filter reviews
2,014 results
Traveler rating
924
841
192
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
924
841
192
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar costa rica central location pedestrian mall heart of san jose gold museum nice hotel national theatre street noise lobby area yogurt front desk staff standard room rental car one night stay felt very safe long flight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 2,014 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Incredibly beautiful boutique hotel in an interesting area of San Jose. We stayed here the last night of our honeymoon and they upgraded us to the most beautiful room with a panoramic view of the city and the mountains. The hospitality was unbelievable and the patio restaurant was delicious and gorgeous. There was secure parking for our vehicle and we felt very safe. 100% we would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Thank ejwesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Congratulations on your honeymoon! thank you for choosing the Hotel Presidente to end your memorable trip, and for recommending us. Please come back to celebrate your anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Well located hotel in the centre of town which can provide parking. The restaurant/bar is reasonable with a lovely terrace looking out over town. We stayed on a Wednesday night and the town was pretty much closed locally at 11pm other than a casino and it didn’t feel safe to walk around. They offer some beers and sodas in the lobby for late night drinks along with games. The breakfast offering is great however the rooms are a bit odd. One could have hosted a party for 30 and sparse while the other, a twin, had a huge spa bath, with its own rockery(!), more suited to a king or honeymoon suite. Clean and comfy beds and quiet.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dorasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you for your review Melissa. Everything is positive and for the most part it appears that you recommend us. So why the 3 / 5 bubbles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We stayed two nights at this hotel and found everything to be as expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is just off of the walking mall. The front desk staff spoke very good English and were very accommodating. Very easy to get to anyplace in the downtown area.

The rooms were nice sized, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning was very good. They will make you eggs any way that you would like them along with many other choices. The food was restocked frequently.

Would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katheb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Glad you had a chance to stay at The Presidente two nights, and explore San Jose. We welcome your visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We stayed here just one night in between landing in San Jose and our transfer to La Fortuna the following day. They picked us up from the airport despite it being very late at night and got us straight to the hotel. We have two young children who were extremely tired at that point, and the staff helped us get to our room as quickly as possible. The hotel decor was lovely, and breakfast was great. We walked to the Mercado Central in the morning to do some shopping before our shuttle arrived. Would definitely stay there again if we have the opportunity.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Great idea to visit the Mercado Central, quite the cultural experience! We also wish you had stayed longer. Next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Had a couple of nights here. Breakfast was good and room large and clean with 2 double beds. Best point was its central location to see the main attractions. Nice and quiet at night. Tea and coffee available in foyer 24/7

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank O2273QTkevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you for staying at The Presidente two nights, and highlighting our location. We are proud of our proximity to the main sites in San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews