We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveler rating
873
805
180
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
873
805
180
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar costa rica central location heart of san jose pedestrian walkway gold museum national theatre street noise lobby area modern hotel yogurt front desk staff standard room rental car breakfast was included one night stay long flight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

We had to change our hotel stay last minute and the folks at Hotel Presidente were super accommodating about it and did not charge us any extra. We had a great stay in an average room for 1 night. The lobby and bar however are great and the location in San Jose is really excellent. We also used the hotel shuttle which was easy to arrange.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cuoghi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you for highlighting our flexibility. We understand the possibility of last minute plans, and are willing to help when possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Booked this hotel only for one night before going home . The location is very good, close to everything. The front desk helped me with the airport transfer. Rooms are very ok and all the property was clean. San Jose is not a nice city, a bit dirty but there are many activities to do.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanpaulalzass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

We highly appreciate your visit and staying at the Presidente. While we do not agree on your views about San Jose, we respect your opinion. The city quickly grows on you and you appreciate its beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica after driving from the airport. We were very impressed with the lobby as it looked very modern, and the receptionist was very welcoming.

The hotel had a security system on the lifts that made it feel safe. The was nice and as advertised, with a view out to the city. We had drinks and dinner on the rooftop terrace and this was very nice despite our body clocks believing it was 3 am after a 12-hour flight.

Breakfast in the morning had many choices and a chef to cook eggs the way you like them.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dantenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Welcome to Costa Rica! We hope that the Presidente is a welcoming first night so you can adjust your body clocks to Pura Vida time. Have a wonderful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Had a lovely stay at Hotel Presidente. The staff are AMAZING and very helpful. The rooms are large and very clean but the best part of the hotel is the lovely rooftop terrace. Amazing cocktails and really great food. My only regret is we didn't stay longer!

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank corinnaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

We also wish you had stayed longer! Thank you for recognizing our staff, and our Azotea Calle 7 rooftop bar and restaurant! Hope to see you back at the Hotel Presidente soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We spent in total 3 nights in May at this hotel. The reception area is very nice, breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and ok. Their staff is welcoming and their restaurant is also good. The location is excellent for visiting San José. The breakfast room is a little too small but that is a minor problem. Would book this hotel again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Namibia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2019

Great review! Interesting that you find our breakfast room to be small. We will review our set up to see if more tables can be added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews