We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there!”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I can highly recommend staying at the Hotel Presidente in San Jose. We stayed there for four nights (March 2014) and had a wonderful time. The location, the rooms (the beds!), the breakfast and, last but not least, the people at the hotel were wonderful. So if you go to San Jose, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123aroundtheworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is a great hotel! We were a group of 4 and could stay in one room for a very good price. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was good and included in the overall price. there is also a fitness center that can be used.
we can highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
many thanks for everything

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location, right in the centre of town. Within walking distance of everywhere. Good and clean reception area and helpful reception staff. Buffet style breakfast which was good. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were given an inside room, with no window.This made the room completelyclistophobic.Lobby was something like on construction, common areas where not been taken care.
The pros are the position (you are in the middle of everything) and the very good quality of the breakfast (dont expect the amer.buffet, just some good costa rican choises).I would go back only if it was extremely necessery and I would ask for a room with at least a window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a good place to stay if you wish to experience downtown San Jose to its fullest. The hotel itself is family-friendly, seemed pretty safe, and had professional staff at the front desk all day and night as far as I could tell.

Service at the front desk was excellent. Everyone at the front desk spoke English fairly well. Jill was extremely helpful to us and helped us straighten out an issue we had with one of our tours. They also exchange currency at a pretty decent rate, just be aware that they are not allowed to hand back dollars for some reason (not sure if this is a hotel policy or a banking regulation or some such), so it's a one-way trade to CRCs.

Location-wise the hotel is in a bustling city center and is close to many museums, local attractions, bars and restaurants. But the area around it can get sketchy pretty fast too. Day time seemed safe, but night time can be a different story. Bear in mind that prostitution is legal and quite popular in Costa Rica, especially a couple blocks north of the hotel in the Red Zone (Zona Roja) where there are plenty of strip clubs (which double as brothels), hotels (which also often double as brothels), and street walkers at night. The girls and brothels are safe, it's the pick-pockets and thieves on the street and in bars you need to watch for as they will be out looking for touristy-types with wads of cash in their pockets. You can get a taxi ride from the hotel to any number of fine restaurants and attractions within a few kilometers for just a few dollars, so when in doubt just take a taxi. Also remember to do a little research on nearby restaurants to avoid getting ripped off, and don't let taxi drivers take you to a restaurant you did not specifically ask for as they may have been paid to take you elsewhere (write down name and address of where you're going to show them).

The main problem with the location is if you want to do tours outside the city, such as in the mountains. The issue is that returning to the hotel at the end of the day is a disaster due to traffic coming into the city. It can easily take close to an hour of stop-and-go traffic for a tour shuttle to get from the outskirts of town back to the Presidente. If you plan on doing tours, consider booking a hotel outside the city and then enjoying the Presidente when you're more focused on activities within the city. Or have your tour bus drop you off at a restaurant a several kilometers away and dine until traffic dies down after dark.

The suite we got was spacious and comfortable. Being a downtown setting, be advised that you'll likely hear street vendors from your room most of the day. We were on the 8th floor so it wasn't too bad, but the yelling and traffic was definitely audible -- just part of the experience. The housekeeping service seemed lazy and failed to replace our bedsheets a couple times, did not replace soap in the bathroom (or even clean the soap tray, leaving a soggy mess instead), and really just failed at doing anything but the bare minimum to make the room look somewhat tidy. So I had to ding this place on cleanliness.

All-in-all this is a pretty decent hotel if you want to experience the urban center of San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to visit San Jose by foot but you hear the noise from the street on weekend nights. Ask the front desk for a room not located on the street side if you want to go to bed early. We stayed there on the first and the last night in Costa Rica. The rooms were big and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. We did not have time to visit museums, but we walked around and found good restaurants. It's' nice to walk on the pedestrian street and get a real immersion in the capital of Costa Rica: lots of people, stores and American fast foods!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

El Presidente hotel was in a great location on the main pedestrian shopping street downtown. It didn't have all the big amenities of a giant business hotel, but it felt authentically Costa Rican to me - I like it when your hotel feels like its location! My room was spotless and comfortable - small, but pleasant. My window faced the main street, but I didn't notice any bothersome noise.

One small detail I liked: instead of bottled water, the hotel provided information that the tap water was safe and discarded water bottles are a major problem for the local environment. If you care about the ecology, this hotel shares your values!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $84 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing