We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel in the Heart of San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Altoona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel in the Heart of San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for three nites at the Hotel Presidente in February of this year.

From the start our stay was extremely enjoyable in this beautiful and convenient downtown
location

The hotel's new General Manager, Oscar Ramirez was an exceptional host from our suite upgrade, recommendations for dinner, directions and everything a good host can offer

Along with the beautiful room, great morning breakfast buffet and the exceptional customer
service of all hotel staff members we had a great stay and I would highly recommend this
hotel in downtown San Jose to all

Oscar thank you and your great staff for a great stay!

G. Clemens

Room Tip: Go with rooms on the higher floors to block out noise from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    551
    123
    26
    14
See reviews for
201
577
117
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights are were grateful for the central location to the National Museum, National Theater, Chinatown, several excellent restaurants we wanted to try and great shopping. My husband & I are retirement age and had no problem with the walks from the Hotel Presidente to the sights we visited. We felt safe & secure at this hotel. Our room was clean, had plenty of everything we needed and staff at the front desk were helpful, professional and knowledgeable-able to answer any questions we had regarding the area. The restaurant had simple selections, but tasty and convenient to have a night cap in the hotel before retiring for the night. Complementary breakfast was hearty and fresh with yogurt, scrambled eggs, toast to make yourself to order, other side dishes, orange juice and delicious Britt coffee. We'd stay again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view directly above the front entrance of the hotel. Lots to see out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights and was more than pleased with the service. In the lead up to our visit the staff were quick to email back a few queries I had about day trips and transfers from Peorto Limon. The driver they arranged for us was right on time and very professional. The location of the Hotel is perfect for tourists, Central Ave right out the door, close to the Gold museum, the marketplace, and plenty of restaurants, including a good one across the road. In fact with the day tours the bus did a few other stops at other hotels and I could see we were in a much better location than other establishments. Would stay there again if/when I return to SJ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kombi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great location! You can walk to a lot of the stores and restaurants. There is a casino right next door and a good restaurant across the street called the El Patio. Breakfast at the hotel was good and the coffee was very good. The hotel staff was adequate, however Luis Carlos was very helpful and friendly. He booked a day tour of a coffee plantation, the Volcano Poas and a La Paz. The view from the volcano was beautiful, and the tour of the coffee plantation was very interesting. The room was clean and neat. I would stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nupe_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at this well located hotel. It served as a good base from which to explore the city. When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted and provied with a complimentary beverage - what a lovely way to start a visit . We enjoyed a long walk down Colon Avenue ( I thinK ) to a beautiful city park. There were two museums, a craft market about a block or so away with beautufl handicrafts made by local artisans-surprisingly most spoke English though more comfortable in Spanish. The area seemed very safe at night though hotel staff suggest guests not have any jewelry visible at night , a tip I appreciated. You will also notice even during the day that almost every store has security guards . There are a slew of restaurants within a block or so walk in almost any direction. We particularly enjoyed El Balcon de Europa.
The hotel generously provided special treats to help us celebrate my husband's birthday.
The room was very lovely and the bathroom was spa like such a treat . All of the staff we interacted with was helpful most were bilingual. This was a great place to start our Costa Ricn adventure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a very nice hotel big rooms, helpful reception desk, nice breakfast and huge jacuzzi, very nice place to stay just in the middle of the main street, many shops just beside. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location in the central part of san jose, right in the pedestrian area. Area just around hotel felt safe at dark but would not go too far away.
Rooms were ok but not more. Very noisy from the other rooms and the corridor. Staff very helpful
Price too high for what you get according to me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing