We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Big rooms with nice jacuzzi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big rooms with nice jacuzzi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a very nice hotel big rooms, helpful reception desk, nice breakfast and huge jacuzzi, very nice place to stay just in the middle of the main street, many shops just beside. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    551
    123
    26
    14
See reviews for
201
577
117
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location in the central part of san jose, right in the pedestrian area. Area just around hotel felt safe at dark but would not go too far away.
Rooms were ok but not more. Very noisy from the other rooms and the corridor. Staff very helpful
Price too high for what you get according to me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Gym is pretty good with view of the city, good equipment including weights and bosu ball. View from hotel is great. Service was good. Getting a taxi through hotel is an extra $10 or so. Breakfast decent. Main draw of this hotel is that it is priced for what you get and in a great location near the grand market and other good places to eat. Rooms were clean, staff helpful, good place for a business trip.

Downside - bill is not itemized which will be difficult when I submit the reciept

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Prettyroja,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our gym and location.

If you require a more itemized bill, please contact me personally at daniel@hotel-
presidente.com and we can make one for you immediately.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on our first stop in Costa Rica around noon and were warmly greeted by the reception. She gave us a quiet room right away and also arranged per our request the transportation to Manuel Antonio via Interbus the next morning. One gets the feeling that the entire staff is eager to provide good service but the best thing is the hotel location-it’s right on the busy Avenida Centrale. The room is clean and the king bed is comfortable. Though the design of the window in our room is a bit too high and you cannot really look out the window but it is quiet. The buffet breakfast (included in the room rate) was good plus there’s a safe in the room and also free wifi which makes it a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is good, but we arrived at 9pm thinking we could walk the ped street outside for a drink and dinner and everything was already shuttered down. Only one small restaurant was open on the corner. Had we known this, we would have stayed elsewhere closer to airports since there was nothing for us to do here and we spent $30 each way from the airports. The rooms are basic and spartan. The breakfast included however was very good and open from 5:30am.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iamkasiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Presidente Hotel is in the heart of San Jose with its front entrance leading directly onto the Avenida Central. it is just one block from the main square and in the centre of the shopping area. Reception is highly efficient (on two stays) and boasts a bar and cafe. Breakfast is served here- a good Costa Rican buffet. The cafe seves very reasonably priced dishes from early morning till late. Rooms are over eight floors with two efficient lifts. Standard rooms are spacious with two queen size beds, a bathroom with shower and decent toiletries. They are air conditioned but not double glazed, which can lead to poor sleep depending on the room position. WiFi is available for free throughout the hotel and the rooms are also cabled for inline connection. Given that it is unlikely that you would want to stay more than a few days in the capital, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

After living in Costa Rica for over a year, I decided it was time to spend some time in San Jose to learn my way around the city. I chose the Presidente because of it's VERY downtown location (convenient for exploration, but a bit noisy at night) and price - roughly $120/night for a junior suite.

The rooms were incredibly spacious with a flat-screen t.v. in each, reliable wireless internet and excellent hot water shower. Unfortunately, though I had been guaranteed in advance that I would have a room with a balcony, that was not available and the gentleman at check-in was quite unaccommodating. The rest of the staff during my stay were incredibly courteous and helpful.

While there are signs all over the hotel offering a rooftop jacuzzi and sauna, the door was always locked and I was later advised that they were closed for good. Unfortunate, and something that might necessitate the removal of the signs.

Breakfasts were fair and exactly the same every morning: yogurt in plastic cups, unripened fruit, a tiny canister of granola, scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, orange juice and coffee. It was included in the room rate so difficult to complain about, but it was quite boring for a luxury hotel owned by Tabacon. One dinner found that room service, however, was wonderful and extremely affordable.

Pleasant hotel for the price, but I think that my next trip to San Jose would require me to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious, but totally sparse and institutional in terms of decoration. They se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing