We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Oasis”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My daughter and I just spent five days in downtown San Jose at the Presidente and it was an excellent hotel in every way. Clean, updated rooms; friendly helpful staff; excellent free daily breakfast; and a terrific central location on the pedestrian mall and walking distance to many restaurants, shops and sights. We'd heard that San Jose isn't always safe for women walking alone but between the lively crowds during the day and the very close proximity of several restaurants for dinner (including one right inside the hotel) we never felt unsafe. Taxis are always available at the nearest corner, and the English language bookstore is right around the corner (don't miss their attached Smoothies bar). Wireless internet at the hotel worked great. Because of what we'd read on Trip Advisor we asked for a quiet room without street noise, and were given a large double (#404). The only window looked into an enclosed shaft so we had to sacrifice a view and natural light but it was worth it since we needed a quiet work space. On our last day I needed a later check-out time and it was no problem to stay in the room until 2 at no extra charge. I highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay here again if I ever need to return to San Jose.

Room Tip: If you want a view and/or lots of natural sunlight, ask for a room facing the pedestrian mall. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 455girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is well situated and guest rooms were undergoing renovations when I stayed in November 2012. I booked a single room at a very reasonable rate through Myhotelguru. I was given one of the newly renovated rooms with a comfortable king-size bed and new flat screen TV. The bathroom had been renovated also. Basically a 4 star style room. Rate included a decent breakfast.

Airport taxi from the hotel was thirty dollars (fixed price).

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Presidente during the December holidays in 2012. It w as right downtown, a great central location in San Jose. The hotel was immaculate, with super friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean and neat with good interior design details. The free internet access was a bonus we didn't know to expect! And even more so was the free birthday cake provided spontaneously by hotel staff!! Good breakfasts. Easy location to start tours throughout Costa Rica - I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, but it was actually far more quiet than I had expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stay there for 5 nights during the winter break. Very nice location, close to the museums, next to the pedestrian street. Staffs are very helpful. The New Year Eve's drum and dance is a good surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 1 night - 4 of us. nice hotel in middle of so-so area but felt very safe. Beautiful room and facilities. most comfortable beds of our whole 8 night trip! great breakfast. would recommend staying here

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afsw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel Presidente is apparently something of a San Jose establishment: it's the hotel that all the tourists go to before they know better. That's not to say that it's not nice. The location is fantastic if you want to explore downtown San Jose. The hotel itself is quite pleasant as well. We stayed in a "Standard Room King Bed" room, which was spacious and clean, and had a programmable safe in it. The room was attractive, if a little spare. The bathroom had high-quality soaps and shampoos (not a given in Costa Rica), and the water was warm and had good pressure. The staff was responsive and friendly and all spoke English.

I guess my main complaint with Hotel Presidente is that it lacked charm. It felt like what it was: an upscale (if not grand) hotel. But for $130 per night, they should be offering something better, especially when you can stay in a good number of bed and breakfast-type hotels in San Jose for literally half the price.

My wife and I bookended our trip in Costa Rica with nights in San Jose. We stayed at Hotel Presidente for our first night in Costa Rica. We stayed at Casa 69 (a smaller hotel) for our last night. Everything at Casa 69 felt like it had been made just for us. There were small flourishes, like the folding of the blanket into a design on the bottom of our bed, that made us feel welcome and wanted. By contrast, everything at Hotel Presidente felt more corporate, like they were trying to provide reasonable accommodations to hundreds of travelers, most of whom were only going to stay for one night (which is, of course, exactly what they are doing).

So in conclusion, if you're looking for a good hotel in San Jose---one that is centrally located and has decent amenities and a friendly, English-speaking staff---Hotel Presidente certainly meets that description. But if you're looking for a charming hotel in San Jose, one perhaps not quite as much on the beaten path but maybe a little nicer (and for much less money), Hotel Presidente is not the one you want.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are staying over in San Jose to visit museums, etc. this is a good place to be. The hotel is in a good location to walk to various places - but it is still in the middle of a city (which means watch your back).
We had a small suite that included a sitting room. It was large and clean with a fridge - no problems. The breakfast was the usual buffet. The folks at the front desk were very polite and helpful.
Their car park is very small - but it is secured (just difficult to find).
If I had a reason to need to stay in San Jose again, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
985 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
942 reviews
0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $96 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing