We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

From what I could discern, this is the perfect location for exploring downtown San Jose. I would definitely stay there again. The staff were wonderful and responsive to any need. The room was basic and provided exactly what we needed. We had a junior suite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 987Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just spent my last night in Costa Rica here. Great location at the end of the pedestrian mall. Kinda noisy if that bothers you, or just ask for a room on the other side and a few floors up. A bit sketchy of an area but fine in the daytime. The hotel staff told me it is more dicey after about 10:00 pm. But great people watching all the time. OK, 5 stars for location-very central. Breakfast was the standard CR typical, which is great by me. Plenty of everything! No, not an omelet station. Room was nicely sized and clean, bathroom clean, safe in closet, friendly staff. I would definitely consider staying here again depending on my itinerary.

Room Tip: Higher floor and not on Central Avenue side for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramorristoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall it was a great trip. The hotel is centrally located in downtown San Jose. The staff was very attentive and personable. They were very knowledgeable and made recommendations as to to tours etc. The hotel was newly renovated and was in immaculate condition.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamleo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Board of Directors at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Jamleo99,

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Presidente, and that you had a great trip to Costa Rica. Thank you for sharing with us.

We wish you a happy New Year, filled with memorable travels and good times.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location is good, if you want to be in downtown SJ. There's a constant bustle around it, but its' not the nicest part of the city. Hotel is OK. Haven't stayed in other SJ hotels, so i've nothing to compare to. Rooms are fine and clean, staff is nice, breakfast is reasonable. Think I'll try another place next time

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Board of Directors at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Shalom Adon ABD119,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our Hotel aiming to fulfill our guests’ wishes and needs, and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about yours.

We also strive to make San José a better City, and your feedback would be extremely valuable.
Please let me know if I may personally contact you. My email is daniel@hotel-presidente.com.

BeBracha,

Daniel Mikowski
Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is located right in the middle of San Jose'. Walk right outside of the hotel and all of the shops are around you, a grocery store is 5 or so blocks down, and taxis are abundant. However, a simple walk up and down the streets by the hotel will suffice.
The staff were great - sat and had great conversation with the restaurant/bar staff downstairs.
They paired me up with a room with a balcony and lots of space for the price.
The room as clean; had room service delivered twice during the stay for dinner - food was fine.
The staff was very friendly. All of the staff were superb. Hotel offers transportation to the airport for fee. Wifi in the room worked great - no issues. Television channels had a few channels in English including news channels.
There were two choices for a Balcony room - one facing the city street, the other facing the mountain - great view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Board of Directors at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Shane G,

We are very proud to receive such a great review from such a seasoned traveler. Thank you very much for sharing it with us and the World.

We are also very pleased and relieved that you noticed and enjoyed our Wifi service, since we made a rather large upgrade in keeping with our guests’ requests and suggestions.

We wish you a happy New Year, and may your travels take you to great places and experiences.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nites - We had read all the great reviews on this hotel and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Location is great - right on Central ave - in the middle of the city so you can just walk out and be right in the middle of this bustling city. Lots of small stores and restaurants around as well as grocery stores in walking distance. We were upgraded to the suite on the 8th floor with a jacuzzi, the room has nice modern touches, nice city view and strong in-room wi-fi signal. Breakfast was pretty good...staff provided excellent service! Price is pretty reasonable as well. We ordered their brownie with ice cream one night and wow - it was so good! We did not have any issues with noise as some ppl have complained - we were high enough - once in a while we might hear some cop cars or honks but i would say its pretty negligible given u r in the city itself...you would hear this in your own neighborhood if u live in a city. Somebody mentioned there was police presence and there's nothing to be scared of about that - they are there for protecting tourists, locals and make you feel safe. Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel - we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If u r getting the upgraded room - go for 803 - it is on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiCasaEsSuCasa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Board of Directors at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear BjVora,

It was a real pleasure and privilege to have the opportunity to talk to you on the phone about your experiences and suggestions.

Thank you for your review and the opportunity you gave us to follow up and learn more about our guests’ preferences and ideas. I look forward to implementing the ones we discussed very soon.

We hope that you have a gentle winter in Illinois, and that 2013 be a fun, very prosperous year.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Board of Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AmandaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $90 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing