We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Best Customer Service!”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had an unexpected medical emergency that required us to stay in San Jose. The doctor recommended Hotel Presidente and I'm extremely glad I took his advice.

We remained in the hotel all day for four days. The hotel staff provided the absolute best customer service I've ever experienced! I had a lot of special requests because of my wife's medical condition. The staff went way beyond what was expected to help us out.

The hotel was very clean and the room service was excellent. Free breakfast buffet. One entrance to the hotel leads directly to a long pedestrian-only zone with street vendors, shops, and restaurants. We had a great view of the mountains and a beautiful church.

I will return to Costa Rica and I will always stay at Hotel Presidente when I visit San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa suite facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Danny L,

Reading reviews like this one is the absolute best part of working in the lodging industry. I have shared your wonderful comments with our Staff for them to rejoice.

I hope that your wife has fully recovered and I am pleased and honored that we were able to help through difficult times.

We wish you both the best.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Director
Hotel Presidente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Presidente
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at our hotel at about 8:30 at night, and were kind of taken aback by the neighborhood. The hotel is alright. The room: clean. Really large bathroom. View was truly bad. Actually, no view at all. Room was small, but the bed was lovely, and the layout was modern. In all, if you just need an overnight in San Jose, this will do it. But not much more for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Paul H,

We greatly appreciate your review and feedback.

We are constantly working with our local Government and our Neighbors to find ways to improve our City. It would be of great help if you could elaborate on your impressions and suggestions.

I would love to have a chance to talk to you. Please contact me at daniel@hotel-presidente.com
Thank you for choosing the Presidente. We wish you great times and great journeys.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Director
Hotel Presidente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you need a great place in San Jose, this is it. Great service, secure, free breakfast and clean rooms. I will be back for sure. The hotel is near many great restaurants, shopping and nightlife. When we came back from the club, security checked our names on the list. Very secure.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naplestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Naplestone,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very glad it was pleasant one.

We are particularly pleased that you found the Presidente to be a very secure environment, as it is one of our top priorities.

San José has indeed become a fun city with many great things and places to explore and experience, and there are a lot more coming up very soon. We look forward to having you as a Guest of our Hotel and City very soon.

At your service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Location is excellent, The rooms are clean and comfortable. Price-quality affordable!
The staff is really helpful. The tours suggested by the reception are good and reliable.
The breakfast was good, but could be refreshed faster, the plates were empty several times.
Recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Aleksandr S,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Oscar Ramirez our F&B Manager and his team have taken care of your comments regarding our buffet and are making sure our chafing dishes are always full.

Thank you for your feedback and kind words which I have shared with our Staff.

At your service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you have to stay in San Jose this is probably your best bet. The problem is that between the outside noise and no carpeting in the hotel, you hear every footstep and every piece of luggage going down the hall and up and down stairs. The staff was friendly and room was comfortable but we literally got no sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear TinaM56,

Please contact me to manager@hotel-presidente.com, so that I can follow up your claim, and take actions based on your feedback.

At your service,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms do not have a window, which I didn't really like. But, I did really like to just walk out the back door and be on the pedestrian mall that runs through San Juan. We had a great time walking all around, eating across the walkway for dinner, choosing a high balcony on the street for drinks, and visiting the bakeries for snack-time. The door is manned by two security guards, so it feels safe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear KimandMitch,

Thanks for the nice review. I agree inside rooms are not as nice as city view ones, just few people request those rooms, mostly concerned about noise, but as soon as they try the city view rooms with sound proof windows, those rooms become favorites... In the future, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back anytime, please contact me directly or request city view on your reservation.

Hope to host you one day soon,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Presidente in the past and really liked the place. Last time I was there in 2007 they gave me an upgrade to a junior suite due to construction next to my assigned room, and it was really very nice. I just got back from a trip to Costa Rica a week ago, and I made a point to stay at the Presidente for one night even though it was twice the price of some of the other places I stayed at. It wasn't the same place as I remembered. I actually had to walk outside and look at the front to see if the taxi had taken me to the right place. Where's the restaurante? I really enjoyed being able to go down to the News Cafe for a drink or for dinner, meeting people at the bar. All gone now. The Casino is gone too. The hotel is very nice and clean, quiet, safe and a great breakfast in the lobby. A great place to get a good nights sleep before heading elsewhere. I had no real complaints, but I can list half a dozen places downtown where you can get a great nights sleep for less money. My past trips I spent multiple nights at the Presidente, but one night was plenty this time around.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite if they have a good off season price.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogoodscreenamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Nogoodscreennamesleft,

First of all, ple ase accept my apologies if your stay was dissapointing. Hotel Presidente has change its facilities since May 2011, that our News Cafe restaurant was closed and the new cafeteria was opened, however, the Casino Fiesta is still open and located in the same two floor building next door, and connected to hotel facilities at the second level as always.

I can see how you missed the News Cafe restaurant this time and respect your preferences, however, consider our hotel if appropriate and be welcome any time soon, it will be my pleasure to meet your person and hear how can our hotel fit your expectations.

At your service,

Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
899 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $83 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing