We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveler rating
794
744
169
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
744
169
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricacentral locationrooftop barpedestrian mallheart of san josenice hotelnational theatregold museumstreet noiseking bedyogurtlobby areastandard roomrental carfelt very safebreakfast was includedfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a really nice hotel in the heart of the city right on the main pedestrian only shopping district and next to the National theater, Muse d'Oro, etc. Room was spacious and had a microwave and reefer, chairs and sofa. Very comfortable and modern. Large spacious bathroom with modern fixtures etc. Very clean.

Buffet breakfast included with omelet station and many other items.

Very friendly and helpful staff with a full command of the English language.

Having said all of that: there really isn't a lot of reasons to go to San Jose. I had locals warn me about the dangers while sitting in the main square across from the cathedral on Sunday morning. Police were everywhere. If you go to San Jose this is the place to stay but, aside from the museums there is really no attraction here.

Did see a very good ballet version of Peter Pan at the National
Theater. Had some good food in the National Hotel and several resturants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear Perry00,
I am glad you enjoyed our location and facilities. Your nice review will be shared with our staff so they also enjoy your kind words that will encourage them to keep a joyful spirit and service oriented attitude. San Jose as many capital cities in the world faces the presence of people that look after distracted visitors to take their belongings…. that is a fact! but it is not a violent city to be afraid of. Thank you very much for the review and any suggestions to improve will be also appreciated. Cordially,
Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

At last a hotel that looks after it's guests!!!!What a wonderful hotel located in such a great spot! We stayed here before we hit the Costa Rican coast and also upon return 3 months later and the lovely girl on the front desk not only remembered us but gave us a free upgrade! The staff here are fantastic! The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. And as for the buffet breakfast it is delicious! Not o be missed if in San Jose! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you for telling us your experience, I will share with Hotel Presidente team so they can rejoice and continuously seek for guest’s happiness and satisfaction. We will be waiting for your next visit! Warm regards,
Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hotel Presidente is very clean, updated, but not exactly flexable. If you want to people watch it is a good place to start although the best part of the hotel (streetside eating) has been closed and replaced with just another run of the mill indoor food service area. For food and a fun view, go across the street and eat where it's fun and the food much better. This hotel has come from being rather dated and not so nice to being overpriced, trying to be something they arn't. The fun part of staying there is gone. If you want a clean, safe place that caters to business, go for it. If you want to really see the culture of Costa Rica, there are better places. The physical part of the hotel is great, the fun part is gone.

Room Tip: Get above the second floor and not a street side room. Noise is a bit of a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank they8239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear guest, I understand from your review, you enjoyed visiting the News Café Restaurant which was closed months ago and I offer my apologies, but change some times is required to improve services. While remodeling takes place, we have the Lobby Cafeteria, Casino, Spa, Gym and because of our location, the great variety of downtown restaurants walking distance. I hope we can share with you our improvements in the near future. Thank you very much for your repeated visits. At your service,
Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The best thing about Hotel Presidente is the hotel’s location. We have stayed at this hotel a few times, and each time we are reminded of how great this hotel is for first-time visitors to Costa Rica. Located on avenida central (downtown San Jose’s main street), this hotel allows visitors to access famous attractions such as the gold museum, jade museum, and national theatre – all within walking distance. Since the street is closed off to vehicles, hotel visitors can walk up and down visiting local shops, finding a great spot to eat (we recommend El Patio del Balmoral which is across the street from Hotel Presidente), and checking out what the street vendors have for sale the particular day you are there. From inside the hotel, the rooms are clean, quiet (we could not hear any noise from the street below), display modern décor (each room has its own flatscreen), and offer some of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. The lobby and check-in employees were pleasant, as was the parking attendant and front door security staff. Breakfast is included with each hotel stay, which is a hearty buffet including an omelette bar. The hotel also has a great first-floor restaurant that opens up onto the corner of avenida central (perfect for people-watching), however unfortunately this restaurant was closed during our most recent visit. Although complimentary airport shuttle service and a pool are not available at this hotel option, Hotel Presidente’s location and quality are such valuable assets that they more than make up for these disadvantages. Overall, a superior-quality accommodation in the heart of San Jose that we enjoy staying at when in town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacuare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you very much for your nice post, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.It will be my pleasure to meet you in person next time and hear any suggestion you can provide to improve or add new services that you feel might be useful for our guests. Also, I would like to share benefits for frequent guests that you can enjoy. At your service,
Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is your typical business class hotel, great for one night stay (which is plenty for San Jose) with good service, clean rooms all the basic necessities including A/C. The location is very central with walking distance to most major attractions. (not that there are many ). The hotel staff is very friendly and will let you know good places to eat. Some places at night you should take a cab to (even though its walking distance) to be on the safe side. San Jose is not the safest city. But the area the hotel is situated in is quite safe before 9-10pm. The breakfast is good and the local restaurant serves good food. We stayed one night right before our flight back and it was just perfect for that. If you walk a bit further to Plaza de La Democracia, on Avenida Central, right before the plaza you'll find a little market, where you can buy soveniers much cheaper then in stores.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

I am glad the Hotel was perfect for a night before your flight back. Also, a new souvenir market is under construction two blocks away from the Hotel, next year souvenirs can be bought directly from the artisans! Feedback is very important for us so any suggestion regarding services you feel can be added to make our Hotel a better option for longer stays in downtown area will be very much appreciated. Cordially,
Katherine Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews