We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Drink on arrival, 2 night, then a1, buffet breakfast, Dinners bit high but V/G. Service V/G, rooms clean, beds comfortable, front desk V/helpful. Water, was told OK from tap. S/market and bank, 500 yds away, V/G for before or after flights

Room Tip: Older persons ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad you had a very good stay and that you were able to enjoy our facilities.

On behalf of all our staff we thank you. It is very comforting for us to see that our guests’ experiences were positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    103
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
29
101
28
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

hotel is opposite sabana park and national stadium in a small road with quiered rooms.
rooms full furnished with fridge an cable flat. service is excellent. We stay 3 times in the hotel january and february. every stay we had good rooms. breakfast was very good. part of breakfast was buffet with ala card service for hot breakfast. helpful reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear client:

Thank you for your review. It is very nice to see that you had a great experience during your stay in our hotel. Our staff is always focused on being one step ahead of our clients’ needs, trying always to fulfill our clients every need.

We thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Dinner quality was Excellent but prices a bit high.
Not much around the area at all, and the road is very busy.
It is a good place for an overnight stay before flying or afterwards.
This was the 4th time we have stayed here before flying out of San Jose. This time we were welcomed with a fruity drink. We thought this was a very nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are located in Sabana Sur, residential area of San José and a starting point to your travels throughout Costa Rica.

Attention to details is our focus and we aim for great quality in our clients’ experiences. We are glad that your experience in our restaurant as well as the hotel was excellent. On behalf of all our staff, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean and modern hotel, located just across the Street from La Sabana Park, where you could take a long walk.
The facilities are small but neat.
Rooms are comfortable, clean with soft beds.
Few breakfast selecction, but with a great taste.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Guscpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We always try to make our clients’ experiences unforgettable. It is very comforting for all our staff to see that everything went well during your stay.

Regarding breakfast besides the buffet, we also offer choices a la carte so you may choose from a variety of side dishes for your breakfast experience.

We thank you again and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I arrived late in the afternoon and check in was fast and the employees very friendly. I had booked (and paid for) the night before through Hotels.com and got a very good rate for a room described as a "Deluxe Room with a King Size bed." The porter took me to my room which was quite small but that was ok, except it had a queen size bed. I double checked my email confirmation and verified that it should have been a king size bed. I went back to the front desk and they changed my room. The porter took me to the new room, which was much bigger (apparently a room for disabled guests) but the bed was still a queen. He told me he would go back and take care of it, he came back and took me to another room. This time it was a spacious room with a king size bed and an great view of the mountains! While I was traveling alone, and a queen would have been fine, I had booked and reserved a king.

The first night, as it was getting late, I decided to eat at the Hotel Restaurant. The food was good though it's overpriced. Breakfast was included though with the room which was nice. They had eggs, cooked however you wanted, Gallo Pinto (black beans and rice, a Costa Rican staple), fresh fruit, bread & croissants, pastries, and cereal. Service at the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner were excellent.

The hotel itself is very nice and it's on a quiet street off the main road. They have a small gym with a treadmill, elliptical, and weight machine that works several different muscles. There is also a jacuzzi which I did not use. The rooms were impeccable. The staff were incredibly friendly. I arranged a tour through the front desk for Sunday to the beach and the next day the young lady who booked it for me asked how it was. Everyone from the wait staff, bartender, front desk, to housekeeping always had a smile and a warm greeting. The beds are firm but not uncomfortable and the linens are high quality. The rooms are nicely furnished and they do have an in-room safe. The curtains block out most of the morning light, though some came through at one end. If you wake early not a problem, unless it's for a tour or something I don't but I just covered my eyes with a pillow and all was ok. Wi-fi worked great in the room and in the hotel. They don't have "do not disturb signs" for the doors, I have one but it's in English only so they didn't understand it. Fortunately they don't come knocking very early in the morning :-)

My last night I inquired about transportation to the airport and was asked what time I needed to go, i said 12:30 PM and he said he would arrange it. I asked about the price, he said it was $30, I said I'd think about it. I thought I remembered seeing something somewhere about it being complimentary somewhere but couldn't remember where. I checked my email and it didn't say anything about complimentary service but then I checked the hotel information booklet and it did say they offered complimentary shuttle service. I called and asked at the front desk why I was told it was $30 when their information said it was complimentary. He said that they offer a shuttle which operates on a schedule at 7:00 AM, 8:00, 11:20, and 1:20 PM. I told him I wanted to take the 11:20 AM shuttle. Yes, it got me to the airport an hour earlier than I needed to be but it also saved me $30. I was disappointed that after such excellent service, other than the room confusion at first, he did not inform me when I inquired about getting back to the airport, that they offered a complimentary shuttle.

While I'd be happy to give the hotel a five, the issue on arrival with the room and the issue with the shuttle service were disappointing which is why I gave the hotel a four.

Room Tip: Get one facing the street so you get picture windows with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that at the beginning of your stay, you had a problem with the assigned room not having the bed size you requested. We are glad that the problem was solved promptly.

We also would like to apologize that at the time you reserved the transportation our receptionist forgot to mention the Free Shuttle’s schedules. Usually, they try to accommodate our clients in the schedule so that their wait at the airport is minimal.

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our staff and facilities, we use our guests suggestions and reviews to improve and change for the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very accommodating staff. I rented a single, the hotel was busy, clean and the best was that the hotel provided a computer for personal use. The included breakfast was excellent. Dinner prices seemed to be rather high in price.

Room Tip: Rooms have windows, but some are not to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 42Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear guest

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and that everything you needed was taken care of. We strive that our clients have everything they need, in advance, so that their stay is uninterrupted and hassle free.
Among our services, as you stated, is a free computer for guest usage; also, we have free Wi-Fi for our guests to use throughout the hotel’s areas and facilities.

We thank you for your comments; knowing of our guest’s experiences helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for one night here, as we were flying out the next day. But next time we come back to Costa Rica we plan on staying here longer. The check-in was great--quickly done and a welcome drink with a handler for our bags. The room had a great A/C unit and we were quickly turning it off because it got so cold! The shower is HUGE, though you may need to call the front desk for additional towels (we only had one hand towel for a room that could fit 4 people). And we stayed in a room right next to one of the open air plant breezeways & thought that it was cool that you could open the window to get some fresh air.

And when we stepped out for the night, the front desk coordinated the taxi for us, making sure the driver knew exactly where we were going. And the free breakfast the next day was amazing. Rice and beans, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, cheese and ham slices, and hot coffee or tea. It was a great way to end our stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsToni712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client

It is very comforting for us to receive comments like this. We always try to make all our clients feel like as if they are home, seeing to their every need and trying to make their stay 100% stress free. We take all our guests comments to heart and always try to improve with every suggestions we receive.

We are glad your stay was as expected and we hope to be able to serve you again when your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#39 of 76 in San Jose
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#26 of 76 in San Jose
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 76 in San Jose
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.9 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#37 of 76 in San Jose
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Property: Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Address: Calle Lang, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located near La Sabana Metropolitan Park, the heart of the city of San Jose, you will find Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, ready to offer you a comfortable and friendly environment where guests can enjoy themselves of the peacefulness and security of the area. The Hotel is located just 1.2 Miles from downtown San Jose and 10 miles from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing