We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$119
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$82
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$190
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
119
118
43
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
118
43
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskrooms are nicely furnishedhand soapcosta ricaboutique style hotelnice hotelnight's sleepseparate nightsbus stophotel is locatedfree shuttle to the airportminutes from the airportcoffee makerwould stay here againrice and beansstayed one nightbreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 301 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean, with wifi coffee making facilities and satellite tv. You can walk through the park to centre takes 35 mins. Breakfast is ok, not fantastic choice we were there as part of a tour wouldn't be my first choice if returned to Costa Rica

Room Tip: Room 121 next to gym and you can hear the treadmill avoid!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally-anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having stayed a while at this hotel, I can unequivocally say it is a better option in San José. The rooms were comfortable, fairly clean (with the occasional long stray hairs left behind by the maids), the A/C was working fine, and it was easy to get a taxi to/from to anywhere... BUT... there were also a few problems.

The shower pressure was beyond poor. I had to unscrew the shower head from the pipe in order to get any pressure, and even with the head of the shower removed, it was still difficult to get a good shower. If you plan to take a shower on your trip, then don't stay here.

There's one particular woman working at the reception who is very sour. I'm not sure why she has a job there, perhaps she is with the management, and, if that is true, then she is ruining the reputation of the hotel. Hopefully she'll leave and relocate to the jungle, somewhere deep inside without a mosquito net.

And speaking of insects, other problems as follows:

The restaurant was infested with fruit flies. The bread, fruit, jam, you name it, all covered in flies. Absolutely gross.

The "gym" in this hotel is a corner located under a flight of stairs, with 3 pieces of non-functioning equipment, next to a hot, humid, outdoor jacuzzi.

The internet terminal in the lobby did not work during my stay.

The safes in every room can be opened by the universal default master code, which I won't mention here in order to protect the current guests of the hotel, but such carelessness by the management is a safety risk, and it is definitely a bad idea to store your valuables at this hotel.

Conclusion: Find an online deal for this hotel; it's not worth full price. It can be a better alternative to many hotels in San José as it is in a fairly safe area, you can go outside and walk around during the day, and it's not too far from anything by taxi. Most of the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Second level is a better option.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel for our 1 night stay, however it is NOT where Trip Advisor shows it on the Map. Not even close. It is approximately 300 meters south of the Football stadiumon Calle Lang behind the Nikklas restaurant. The staff could not give me directions over the phone when I was 9 blocks away. Overall the hotel was good with a very good breakfast and secure parking.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. No elevator
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vballmdbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very comfortable and accommodating, with tropical greenery "mini-gardens" brightening up the halls. Beds were fine, lighting adequate, and bathroom clean. But our room could have used a vacuuming, as the same long black hairs were on the carpet both days of our stay. An ATM around the corner didn't work for me, and the front desk was unable to convert $20 American - otherwise, they were very efficient. Breakfast choices included good muesli, good cheese, and of course, excellent coffee. If its location is close enough to the airport for you, it is a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwestadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent! Charming hotel with very friendly personal, large rooms (and bath-rooms), clean and well furnished in,modern style, windows directed to internal patios equipped with tropic plants, very calmly. We staid there for 4 days and were very pleased with service and installations: Excellent breakfast, very good cuisine for lunch and supper (both local and international dishes), other small restaurants and cafeterias may be found in the close neighbourhood. Situated in a residential neighbourhood close to the metropolitan park of La Sabana and the campus of the university of La Salle, downtown San Jose with its sights and museums is at a walking distance of 30 minutes or may be reached by bus within 5 minutes (bus stop 150 m from the hotel, fare 160 Corones per person). The worth-seeing La Salle Museum of Natural Sciences is found at a distance of only 300 m from the hotel and gives particularly a very impressive overview about the fauna of Costa Rica. A large supermarket with an ATM that accepts European Maestro-cards is found at a distance of 400 m.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews