We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$116
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$82
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$190
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
119
118
43
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
118
43
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskrooms are nicely furnishedhand soapcosta ricaboutique style hotelnice hotelnight's sleepseparate nightsbus stophotel is locatedfree shuttle to the airportminutes from the airportcoffee makerwould stay here againrice and beansstayed one nightbreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 301 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very comfortable and accommodating, with tropical greenery "mini-gardens" brightening up the halls. Beds were fine, lighting adequate, and bathroom clean. But our room could have used a vacuuming, as the same long black hairs were on the carpet both days of our stay. An ATM around the corner didn't work for me, and the front desk was unable to convert $20 American - otherwise, they were very efficient. Breakfast choices included good muesli, good cheese, and of course, excellent coffee. If its location is close enough to the airport for you, it is a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwestadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent! Charming hotel with very friendly personal, large rooms (and bath-rooms), clean and well furnished in,modern style, windows directed to internal patios equipped with tropic plants, very calmly. We staid there for 4 days and were very pleased with service and installations: Excellent breakfast, very good cuisine for lunch and supper (both local and international dishes), other small restaurants and cafeterias may be found in the close neighbourhood. Situated in a residential neighbourhood close to the metropolitan park of La Sabana and the campus of the university of La Salle, downtown San Jose with its sights and museums is at a walking distance of 30 minutes or may be reached by bus within 5 minutes (bus stop 150 m from the hotel, fare 160 Corones per person). The worth-seeing La Salle Museum of Natural Sciences is found at a distance of only 300 m from the hotel and gives particularly a very impressive overview about the fauna of Costa Rica. A large supermarket with an ATM that accepts European Maestro-cards is found at a distance of 400 m.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica and had a pleasant stay both times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is pleasant and the staff were extremely kind in dealing with our special requests for our jet lagged young children. Breakfast is good too. What really struck us was the extremely courteous and helpful attitude of the front desk staff. Alan, in particular was extremely helpful is helping us sort out a problem we encountered with the car we had reserved - which was never delivered. He went out of his way to find us a 4 wheel drive within 12 hours (on a Sunday) so that we could keep the holiday schedule we planned. Thanks to him, our trip was not delayed, and we had a wonderful time in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YBall815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first and last nights of a trip to Costa Rica. The rooms are rather dark - neither of ours had windows, but were adequately clean and stocked for the most part.
The attitude of the staff varied from very pleasant and helpful, to disinterested, to quite rude. The bell hops were very helpful and looked for ways to watch out for us as did most of the people at reception. There was a business group in the restaurant the one night we ate there, and the waiter seemed to forget we were there. The food was quite good, though.
One person at reception, when we told him that my wife's skin seemed to be a little sensitive to the liquid soap in the room and asked if they had any bars of soap told me this: "We don't have any, so if you want a bar of soap, there is a store about 5 blocks down the street and you will have to walk down there and buy it yourself." Perhaps there was some cultural misinterpretation on my part, but this seemed a little unnecessary.
We were only there a short time each of the 2 nights, but this would not be my first choice should we return to San Jose.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

the hotel is ice and not big and crowded, the rooms are nice and big with everything you need - the breakfast was good with gallo pinto and we enjoyed some nice sushi for lunch one day. the only thing is that you are far from the centre but we had a good walk in and a cheap cab ride back. we rented a car and it was easy to find the hotel leaving and enetering san jose. good service, clean big rooms, good wifi in rooms, nice food - we liked it. the three fitness machines and the little tub in the public area was not something you feel liek using - not secluded enough and not big enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews