We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was the best and nicest room of our stay in Costa Rica! The hotel room was very modern, although small. We didn't spend any time in the room other than to sleep so it didn't bother us. The hot tub was very nice, and partly outside. The breakfast was great! We parked our rental across the street in a lot that was fenced and we were a little nervous, but the next morning it was fine. The hotel is hard to find, but if you have GPS it's no problem. This was a great transient night for us here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    103
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
29
101
28
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I ended in this hotel because barcelo and crowne plaza were crowded and I needed to be close to the area. They suggested this hotel to me and at the end it turned out to be great.
Prices are cheaper than other hotels but you have to take in consideration that the rooms are small and have no great views. Despite of this, rooms are perfectly equipped and very clean. Service is EXCELLENT and they work on every request you make (e.g. I asked them if they knew some restaurants nearby to order some food and they created a list with phone numbers/names/specialties from each restaurant they could find doing deliveries).
In my opinion this is a great hotel if you won't spend all day in the premises...it does the trick for resting after a whole day working/visiting landmarks.
Sabana park is only a few feet away so if you like jogging that is a great chance to do it daily. You can get to the track or run around the lake...it only takes you 10 mins walking distance to get there from the hotel.
They also offer the chance to go to a fitness gym (fully equipped) that is only 2 mins. walking distance.
Again...this is not a good option if you are a "stay inside the hotel all day long" kind of guy....this is a nice affordable hotel for those who come here to work/tour most of the day and want to return to a clean/comfortable place without paying super high prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omarefren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I guess we were spoiled because we stayed at the Ramada on the first leg of our trip. The rooms are a little small here and due to its location in town, it has few windows. It is a little claustrophobic. The view from the front of the hotel is of barbed wire and barred windows typical of San Jose but for the price, I really expected more. The restaurant was wonderful and the food very good. The only real issue that I had was that the ice machine was broken and you had to go to the bar for ice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Sabana Park round the corner, and easy acess to the town centre are good reasons to stay in this small hotel. The rooms are well furnished and all the fittings seem new. The bathroom was immaculate. There was no view from our first floor room, but getting outside to enjoy the environs made up for the lack of it. Restaurants further up the road and a good supermarket nearby provide fair alternatives for eating lightly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is located on the south side of the central park in San Jose. We walked to San Jose city centre (theatre, cathedral, market) within 30 minutes from the hotel. They have secure parking on the other side of the street courtesy the hotel. It is a new hotel so they are working out any kinks. We stayed in room 228 with another couple and the room was comfortable. Windows are small but the room served its purpose. Make sure you lock the windows. We had a quiet comfortable sleep. It is approx 30 minutes away from the airport. Complimentary breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWHATSOUTTHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very comfortable with good food. Reception was very helpful with suggestions in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mif31258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before getting back home. The guy who welcomed us was very friendly. The room we were given was very noisy due to aircons that are on the roof of the building. I would suggest you take a room on the first floor away from the street. We asked to change rooms after one night due to the noise, the lady behind the desk was not very cooperative. She first told us the hotel was full, which was obviously not the case. Then she asked her manager and suddenly is was no problem. This same lady was very grumpy and did not show a can do attitude. When we asked her whether there would be a pool anywhere in San Jose she just said no and not helped us any further. Really wonder why she works there. Rest of the staff was very friendly and willing to help though. Restautant is also good, so is the service in the restaurant. They have a free shuttle service to the airport. We used this, however it was 30 minutes late. Not very reliable. The pool is not for swimming (it is very small).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stefanamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#39 of 76 in San Jose
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#26 of 76 in San Jose
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.9 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 76 in San Jose
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Property: Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Address: Calle Lang, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located near La Sabana Metropolitan Park, the heart of the city of San Jose, you will find Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, ready to offer you a comfortable and friendly environment where guests can enjoy themselves of the peacefulness and security of the area. The Hotel is located just 1.2 Miles from downtown San Jose and 10 miles from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing