We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Downtown Hotel”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We, like so many others, stayed at the begining and end of a fly/drive vacation. It is a middle of the road, downtown hotel in central america. Very nice but not NY or Chicago. We got more than expected. It is clean, with a very nice staff who goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. We loved the people watching from El Patio!

Don't forget the exit tax can be paid at the front desk and it will save you a ton of time at the airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingDownTheRoad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    464
    191
    48
    44
See reviews for
194
380
131
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We decided on this hotel after a horrific night spent at the Hotel Santo Tomas. The front desk is very helpful, the breakfast buffet is plentiful and the location is excellent - right on Avenida Central (which makes for good people watching) - walking distance to Mercado Central and other sites. There was some noise from construction going on in one area of the hotel and the front desk was more than accomodating in switching our room - they even upgraded us without our asking. The rooms are spacious and clean. The only drawback is that if you want wifi in your room, you have to pay for each laptop you have to access the wifi ($6/laptop/day). There is free wifi in the lobby. The restaurant, El Patio, is a bit pricey for San Jose - you're better off searching out a soda on a sidestreet for typical Tico food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearrabbit790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The hotel is ok but not that great. The staff is nice but the room remind me of a youth hostel. We stayed there two nights: one at the beginning of our vacation and one at the end. The first room was very moldy and was right by the fire exit door door which they always left open and reopened after we closed it one night. The second was a little better, not moldy but still had the youth hostel feel. The elevator is very small and the stairs and corridors are very confusing. The restaurant was very good. The food was good, the desserts were good and cheap ( try the chocolate cake). Also it is fun to sit in the restaurant and watch the world go by on the pedestrian avenue in front of the hotel. It is extremely difficult to find the parking area because it is down a side street (7th?) and the front of the hotel is on a pedestrian area with no cars allowed. I would only stay here if I needed a one night stay before I headed off to see the rest of the country.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biology44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Our destination was Puerto Viejo, and stayed here for one night before we left San Jose. We ate at El Patio which is connected to Hotel and the food was great, great setting and casual atmosphere. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Minor noise from construction for a few hours, but didn't continue throughout the night. Great complimentary buffet breakfast. You can book taxi to airport at from front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-n-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX 77005
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

After arriving after midnight, we had to get up at 5 am and found we had no bath towels. They charged us $2.50 for two cups of coffee made in the room. The ac was barely adequate, and the elevators are small. The carpets in the hallways are not very clean, but the room was. The staff is friendly, and they have computers with free Internet. The location in the center of town is great, and they have security at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrown2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at the Balmoral the night before leaving Costa Rica and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is nice. We appreciated the free parking, although it is difficult to find the parking entrance, and liked the location. Breakfast was included with our room and very good. Also, it is very nice that the departure tax can be paid right at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We recently returned from a Gate 1 trip to Costa Rica, and the Balmoral was the initial and last hotel of the 6-night stay. We were skeptical, since the trip was inexpensive, but we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the others on the trip. The staff at the desk were kind and friendly, even when we checked in for our last night and encountered a tour of several dozen teenagers trying to check in as well. The desk staff, especially Silvia and Evan, were very helpful, going out of their way to help us return our rental car, print boarding passes, suggest a good museum we could visit in limited time, and even dial the phone for us so that we could call my son. The rooms were spotless. They are basic, but in the same way that many European hotels are basic, and we were very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located, although it was a challenge to find on the first night, because the street in front is turned into a walking street sometimes, and the GPS wanted us to turn onto it. A quick call to the front desk provided excellent directions, however. The restaurant was good the first night, not nearly as good the second night when it was much busier. I would recommend finding another restaurant, unless you are tired and not too interested in what you eat. The food was okay, but service was weak. Overall, you won't go wrong staying at the Balmoral.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing