We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE IN CENTRAL LOCATION”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

An excellent value in a central location wit easy transportation (weather bus or taxi) to all parts of the city. Front desk, especially Adriana, was extremely helpful answering my numerous questions with regard to travel, currency exchange etc.

I requested a high floor with a view when I made my reservation and it was provided. May not be for everyone if overly sensitive to nighttime street activity.

A good breakfast and a comfortable bar with friendly bartenders. Some tables overlook the constant flow of activity along Central Avenue if you enjoy watching people.

I will definitely stay here again.

A frequent traveler

Room Tip: I asked for a high floor with a view. It was provided, but if you are sensitive to street activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Newly renovated and same great staff. Adriana in the front desk was very friendly, professional and welcoming. Location is ideal in the heart of San Jose. The restaurant, bar , café and lobby are very convenient.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dariel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Coming in tired after an overnight flight, we were delighted to have our room available. Accommodations were excellent, great location for walking sightseeing. We thought breakfast was especially good.

Room Tip: Maybe best not to be on Avenida Central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent location in downtown San José, Costa Rica. Pedestrian mall in front with many shops and restaurants with museums, parks, etc. in the vicinity. Hotel personnel extremely friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was excellent with traditional choices such as "gallo pinto" (mixed rice and beans) and made to order dishes too. Our experience booking tours through the hotel was fabulous, fairly priced with extremely knowledgeable tour guides. We look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank turistologapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here three days, two nights, our first stay in San Jose. The Nuevo Balmoral Hotel (http://www.balmoral.co.cr/) is set right in the center of historic downtown San Jose, an excellent location. From here you can walk to nearby museums, the National Theater, and the wonderful Public Market that occupies an entire city block and was established in the 1880’s. We had a “superior” room, as the Balmoral has a number of room quality levels. Our room was spacious with two double sized beds, a large television, in-room coffee maker, separate sitting area with two chairs and a table, and a fine view outside of the local pedestrian mall. You could sit for hours and watch the local color pass by. The closet was stocked with a dozen hangers and the bathroom was a moderate size with plenty of hot water. All electric outlets are 120 vac and standard American two prongs with a ground. A few more outlets would have been nice for us tech gadget folks, but we always carry an extension cord to help with that. The free Internet WiFi mostly worked well, with no required passwords or logons to deal with. We especially appreciated the in-room safe to store valuables while we were out. Front desk staff and restaurant staff spoke clear English and were all friendly, accommodating and seemed to appreciate our being guests. We chose the room rate with a breakfast and recommend this. The buffet breakfast was replete with a variety of breads, sweetbreads, gallo y pinto (the latin america standard of rice and beans, here in Costa Rica, black beans with nice flavors), fried plantains, pancakes, syrup, potatoes with delicious sweet peppers, most tasty sausages, fruits (especially the papaya), coffee, dry cereals and milk, plus - a chef to do eggs anyway you wish. Makes me hungry remembering all this. Maid service was thorough, and you get real glass glasses to drink from, and ceramic coffee cups. We did eat dinner at the restaurant one night. The menu included local cuisine and a wide variety of international items. The food was good, generous, the wine reasonably priced, and the service pleasant. And, since a Wednesday night, we enjoyed the live music presented by a Mexican style Mariachi Band. Overall, we would certainly stay here again if returning to San Jose. Just as a consideration, San Jose traffic is very impressive, the streets not entirely a grid, and plenty are one-way, therefore driving takes a great deal of patience and local knowledge. So take a taxi from the airport and enjoying looking out the windows as the driver deals with the streets and traffic. With the Balmoral’s location you can then enjoy the walking.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the breakfast, it is quite good, ask for a room facing the pedestrian mall, very enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern-Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Located downtown San José, Costa Rica. It is surrounded by stores, restaurants, museums, theater, etc. A very strategic location and many things to catch around.
Ideal for business or tourism staying. Food is good however they do not have like a variety for breakfast.
Nevertheless, it is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catiuxca81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Downtown location with pedestrian mall in front. Staff very helpful (those who spoke English) but overall a good experience. Some shops and restaurant has variety of food. Breakfast included, must love rice.

Room Tip: Inside rooms quieter. But overall large and clean. Bring your own tissues. First time I ever stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing