We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location and service”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent location, right on the Avenida Central. Quiet area at nights, and safe. Wi-fi is accessible from anywhere in the hotl. Great beds and nice, warm showers. The breakfast is great and food choices are wide. Service is top niotch, as to be expected in Costa Rica, which always proves their "Pura Vida" message and vibe. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

excellent location in downtown of san jose right in the middle of all shops, close to parks etc. very friendly staff, clean and big rooms, tasty breakfast, good restaurant for lunch or dinner, we had to leave at 3 am to airport, hotel - taxi was on time and breakfast to take out ready at recepcion. 100% recomendable

Room Tip: we prefer rooms with street view because they have more day light.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nelson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location right in the middle of San Jose, great price and big room! couldn't ask for more. It was half price when I booked which helped ~ $59, for which I had the smallest room. But it was plenty big enough for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Turns out San Jose hotels have a very strict guest policy. Which sucks if your traveling with friends looking for a good time. I met a friend in Tamarindo and traveled Costa Rica for a week together prior to reaching San Jose. The Balmoral had a friendly guest policy, was super clean, centrally located near shops, restaurants, had a gym, and a super friendly staff at a GREAT RATE. The hotel was safe and secured at all times of day, and offered everything I needed for my stay in San Jose. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Doesn't have a pool, and I didn't inquire about spa. room service was provided by an ajoini...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Neuva Balmoral is a pleasant surprises. Conveniently located in Downtown San Jose is truly a great location and the special reopening price is fantastic which is for 1 year when you register. For the regular visitor on business this is truly the best deal in downtown. The included breakfast is also one of the best. The rest of the meals are priced to be competitive. The meals are generous is portion but more importantly very well prepared and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreydcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a 9 day trip to Costa Rica. Stayed at the Balmoral Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end of our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times! Stayed in a regular room the first 2 nights and thought the room rate was very reasonable, especially to be in the heart of downtown. The last night we stayed in a suite and again I thought the room rate was very reasonable. Made the reservations through the hotel's website. Ate at The Patio restaurant for lunch and dinner. Enjoyed the food. Try to sit close to the outside so you can watch the hussle and bussle of the main street (no vehicles other than police cruiser allowed). All the staff we came into contact with we great. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions, although all our travels this trip were outside the city. I would definitely stay at the Balmoral Hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank HucksMomRichland_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Balmoral at the beginning and end of a private tour. I had developed a medical condition during our travels. When informed, the staff at the Balmoral immediately located emergency technicians, who came to our room, did an examination and attempted a treatment. The Balmoral staff stayed with us and provided interpretation, as we are not Spanish speakers. When my condition did not improve, the staff provided information about hospital services, and a person to walk us to a taxi just outside the door, and also facilitated our return. Fortunately, I was successfully treated and able to travel. Upon our return, the staff welcomed us and inquired about my condition and asked if there was anything I needed. We loved the restaurant there--beautiful environment and great Costa Rican and American food. Several beautiful shops, smaller cafes, lots of alcoves to sit in and visit or just read or relax, excellent and friendly staff everywhere. There is obvious security on site, even though this is a relatively safe part of the city. Great centralized location within walking distance of many attractions. Not fancy, but certainly very nice and comfortable. If I go back to San Jose in the future, I will definitely consider staying there again. Felt like home after being there for a week!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $76 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing