We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice and comfortable room except every time i wanted to sit back against the wall on my bed, it would slide away a little :) and I had to push the bed back against the wall. Bathroom was clean and OK. Shower space was too little. Breakfast was excellent. Nice buffet. Cook can make on the spot anything you like to eat. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arsalan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    401
    154
    37
    36
See reviews for
167
325
111
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Balmoral - the facilities are totally modern and very nice. The wi-fi even worked as good as expected (for a hotel)

It really is a good location. The staff were all excellent we had no problems being gringo US english only people and were treated great by everyone.

The restaurant has really good food - the included breakfast buffet is great. For dinner the food is good -- but be prepared to pay US prices but it offers a great view of the pedestrian street outside.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, good food, nice rooms and easy access to the walking malls and great historic attractions! A little difficult to find if you are not familiar with the streets and walking boulevards of San Jose, but it all makes sense once you figure it out! A great value and safe, secure parking if you drive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Calupio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Balmoral hotel has an excellent location, in the center of San Jose, walking distance of tourist sites,shops and restaurants, Adriana at the front desk had our rooms and lunch ready for us when we arrived excellent food, the staff was very courteous. We thank Balmoral for their great hospitality and thank you Adriana for your a job well done :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnajarro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decent rooms, decent location, ugly entrance, but the principal reason for the terrible rating is that the front desk has no concept of customer service, whatsoever. They made an attempt to charge me for mini bar products that were not consumed, and would not accept my statement about the products not having been consumed. Additionally, the prices were extortionate even for a mini bar.
When I told reception I would be staying another night I was told I had to pay before I could re-enter my room, being treated as a virtual criminal.
There was no understanding of even the most basic requirements of customer service.
Lastly, a fairly miserable minimal buffet breakfast. Hard pancakes, mediocre pastries, no selection of fresh fruit, and cold coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I were road tripping through Costa Rica and wanted to find a place to stay in the heart of San Jose. The location was right in the heart of San Jose. The restaurants were so good we could just eat there for each of our nights.

The best part of our stay was when we were looking for tours, the front desk attendant took it upon herself and called a tour company she knew of so I could talk to them. That led us to having the best tour we could have imagined.

The one thing I would make sure people understand is downtown San Jose isn't somewhere you want to explore late at night so if you're adverse to staying in the hotel and having a drink at the bar, downtown San Jose may not be your best choice.

For us though, the price, location and quality were great and I couldn't see why anyone would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stendsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del Coco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Balmoral Hotel a few times, they have clean rooms, good restaurant &bar.I checked in for two nights and the price posted said $105.00 per night unless you stay longer then it is $75.00 per night,they put throught the charges on my visa right away, then I got to the desk to check out and the woman at the front desk told me it would be another $118.00 because the $212.00 was only a holding fee.I pointed out the price of the rooms were $105.00 per night for standard rooms, she said to me "just to let you know, the rooms are more for next time" If its more take down the posted prices. I don't think I will stay there again I don't need to argue when I leave a place. This is very unprofessional.The Presidential is just across from there, I will stay there from now on

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank eltwintours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing