We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Balmoral” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Balmoral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved the location downtown central, next to walking mall and so many other things within walking distance. Restaurant street side was also a winner. The rooms were rather ordinary but still OK. The front desk personnel were informative and helpful. Speaking fluent English was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwight m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    401
    154
    37
    36
See reviews for
167
325
111
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and clean with delicious breakfeast, recomended for visit in the city, big nice rooms with all you need, in the town center on the main walkway and parking included, restaurant in the hotel was very nice and they had delicious coffee

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Right on the main pedestrian walkway. The staff was great and had all the amenities a small family needed. Enjoy the restaurant and shops and visit all the main attractions San Jose has to offer. No regrets with my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you ever go to San Jose, Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. Great accommodation: The rooms are great with all the comfort you need. Excellent location: In the heart of the city. Great food and drinks and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emilio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Liked the location. If you want to be in downtown San Jose, it was nice to be on a pedestrian walk way.
Windows opened up to a light wall - but it was super grimy and dirty. My son didn't mind it.
Nice staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Balmoral many times, we love it, its close to the casino and many other points of interest. I love to walk the streets and taste the local foods and mingle among the locals. The hotel offers a nice selection of tours, the rooms are large and clean, the service exceptional and the staff friendly. The area has plenty of security, both in the hotel and outside, I feel safe. The restaurant may be a little pricey, buts its good and plentiful, me and my husband always share a plate and of course their complimentary breakfast is wonderful. I cant say anything bad about this hotel, we love it, we will be going back for 2 1/2 weeks for the Christmas holidays, cant wait, many times its what we make it and we love the sights and sounds of San Jose.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Central Ave, for me I enjoy watching people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carmen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Right on avenida central, in the center of everything. Can walk to any place if interest. Service was exceptional. Can't say anything bad about it.
Restaurant a little pricy but the pizza was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing