We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Liked the location. If you want to be in downtown San Jose, it was nice to be on a pedestrian walk way.
Windows opened up to a light wall - but it was super grimy and dirty. My son didn't mind it.
Nice staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    473
    192
    48
    46
See reviews for
204
385
134
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Balmoral many times, we love it, its close to the casino and many other points of interest. I love to walk the streets and taste the local foods and mingle among the locals. The hotel offers a nice selection of tours, the rooms are large and clean, the service exceptional and the staff friendly. The area has plenty of security, both in the hotel and outside, I feel safe. The restaurant may be a little pricey, buts its good and plentiful, me and my husband always share a plate and of course their complimentary breakfast is wonderful. I cant say anything bad about this hotel, we love it, we will be going back for 2 1/2 weeks for the Christmas holidays, cant wait, many times its what we make it and we love the sights and sounds of San Jose.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Central Ave, for me I enjoy watching people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carmen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Right on avenida central, in the center of everything. Can walk to any place if interest. Service was exceptional. Can't say anything bad about it.
Restaurant a little pricy but the pizza was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A fairly decent hotel, staff are friendly, rooms are decent size and clean. Their restaurant is so-so but is a little pricey! You are basically right in the center where the action is! Casinos, restaurant, shops etc. The area becomes a little iffy when all the establishment close down, with beggars, homeless, prostitiutes plying their trades. I would not recommend staying here if you are with kids as it is not exactly a "wholesome" family place. Adults might like it if they are looking for some action and interaction with the locals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the very top floor seems bigger than the regular floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dy1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've been to Costa Rica many times, and this was my first time I stayed at the Balmoral. My room window opened to an airshaft and faced other room windows. So I was not able to enjoy the nice fresh air of San Jose. Instead I listened to a noisy air conditioner. They registered my friend (who lives in Costa Rica and was dropping off a few of my things) as my second occupant, and listed my girlfriend as a "guest". This came to an extra 90.00 charge, and refused to listen to me about the mix up. The man behind the counter even sneakered about the situation. The Presidente, situated across the street, is a much better place with nicer rooms for about the same price, unfortunately for me it was booked. Also for about half the price the Aranjuez, is nice place with a courtyard and friendly staff. For nicer place you can't go wrong with the Grano del Oro, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is a old fashined but has a strategic location just 5 minutes from the capital, theathers like Sala Garbo, hospitals, restaurants, museums, etc.
The rooms are clean and comfortables that is very important to me.
The hotel hsa a good restaurant offers a good and healthy breakfast if you are tired to eat the typical costarican breakfast (gallo pinto) you can orden american, continental or something else.
The lunch is very good, nice portion and good price less than ten dollars per person includding the coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greivin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is clean with a good restaurant. It is off Central, which is truly blocks from the Nat'l Theatre, mercado, modern art museum etc. & plenty of local restaurants. The area becomes dicey after 9pm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thilmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing