We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
“Very Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for about a week as part of an international internship with the university I am attending. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room for free and it was very nice. On the first night the room keys did not work but they fixed the issue very quickly. They do have a free breakfast buffet every morning that is good and includes fruit, eggs, pancakes, potatoes, rice and beans, sausage, various breads, juice, water, and coffee. The hotel restaurant is slightly pricey but the food is good. The only major complaint I have is with the internet. It is slow and sometimes it does not work at all but other times it works okay. The fitness center was decent and had a good view of the city. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would advise getting a room that does not face the walking street below or if it does face the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    401
    154
    37
    36
See reviews for
167
325
111
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape coral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in San Jose so basically needed somewhere to sleep but wanted to be within walking distance of the downtown area. This hotel was great in that respect. Had dinner in one of the restaurants which was crowded due to Costa Rica vs Mexico soccer game, but overall good service and food. Breakfast buffet was included with room and had a good selection of food. Staff was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great hotel, right in the middle of San Jose. You are walking distance from the most important plazas in San Jose, so it is great for sighseeing without the need of taking a taxi.

Good rooms, comfortable beds, and top notch service from all the staff. The food in the restaurant was a bit pricey, but there are restaurants and cafeterias all around. I would recommend Balmoral, hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great service at front desk. Nice room except they gave me a handicap room. Had to figure out how the shower worked! Convenient to all downtown sights. Will stay there again next time. Bed was too small, ask for a queen size at least.

Room Tip: Bed was too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Balmoral as part of our 8 day trip. The hotel was very clean and easy to find with the GPS in our rental car. Parking was easy as we pulled into the garage and the gentleman took care of parking it for us. We stayed on the 3rd floor. The room was clean and comfortable except the bed. The mattress itself was extremely hard. WiFi available in the room, mini bar. We had trouble with the safe located inside the room. We called the front desk and they had someone up immediately to take care of the situation. The halls were very quiet; day and night. We slept with the windows open one night and never heard a peep. Our windows looked out into a small courtyard area. We only ate one breakfast there as we had an early morning rafting trip one day. It consisted of eggs (made to order), pancakes, rice and beans, fruit, cereals, pastries and juice. Definitely a plus that it is included in your hotel stay! There are several shops located inside the hotel. We didn't visit those. The restaurant seemed a little overpriced for what it was. We never ate there. There is a busy pedestrian walkway located right outside of the hotel with many shops and food stalls to visit. We felt very safe walking along the walkway. Overall, it was a great experience. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone. Will keep it on my list for when I go back.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave the sleep quality 2 stars was because of the very firm mattress; other wise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piratebeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were looking forward to our time at Balmoral, only to be very disappointed. We purchased a room off of Booking.com- only to arrive to the hotel with no reservation- then, they wanted to up charge us $30.00 extra. Then, we were given the worst hotel room, small, hot and HUMID. The air conditioner barely worked and the lighting in the room were florescent and difficult to see as it was so dim in the room. The worst of it, was as I was sleeping I got bug bites on my legs. Then, we paid extra to be able to stay in our hotel room late so we could shower and get ready to go to the airport for a 1:00am flight, and the hotel's water was turned off for 2 hours. The hotel receptionist was rude and had an attitude, but the other employees were great! It does have a great location and overall could be a nice hotel, but I came home and we washed everything before it came in our house, because I was concerned about potential bed bugs....let's hope I was bitten by something else! Overall, bad experience- glad we were only there one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights...one night at the beginning of an 8 day Costa Rica tour and one night at the end. When we arrived from the airport (about a 20-30 minute drive), it was late and we were tired. We were able to order room service. It was delicious...we got 2 pizzas and it cost about $40. Steep, but not too bad for room service prices. In the morning, we had a good breakfast (included) before checking out.

We returned at the end of the trip. We were tired so we pretty much stayed in the room all day and watched TV. We were going to walk around San Jose, but it was such a cesspool that we decided not to. The room was comfortable with English HBO. We ate lunch in the hotel restaurant and again ordered from room service for dinner.

PROS:
Friendly and helpful staff. Gave us an umbrella because it was raining, etc.
Clean and quiet.

CONS:
Wifi was free but very unreliable in the room. Plus it kept making you log in time and time again.
Area was very dirty, but this could just be because San Jose is disgusting in its entirety.

Overall, I would recommend staying here if you MUST stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing