We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK only for 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK only for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Radisson Hotel San Jose is older hotel with older equipment. Big room and bathroom, bad view, good breakfast, average staff, bad location, for 1 night ok. BUT San Jose is ugly town, do not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Ivana B:

We are very pleased to have had a visit at our facility and give the most cordial greetings on behalf of all the staff working in this hotel and especially mine, we are all very grateful for your choice for your stay in San Jose, we regret not have been able to exceed their own expectations for the time in our country, but thank you very much for making knowledge service points where we can improve, hopefully we can have the opportunity to have him back with us, would we a great pleasure to serve in near future.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M,
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    414
    210
    69
    47
See reviews for
189
297
100
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Radisson need to improve this facility as it is getting older. The same rooms as 15 years ago, noisy with no mayor renews than paint the walls and add a stereo...
Bathrooms with countertop too height that even for a guy like me (5-8) was hard to wash my face...
The people, as in many Costa Rican places was friendly and kind but they told me to move to a room with interior view and they didn't. The reserve was for interior side...and guess what ? they didn't have interior rooms only street view (very noisy)... so I guess that it is time to find out a new place for the next time.

Room Tip: If you don't get an interior view, change for a new hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JST_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear JST_Chile:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, deeply regret not being able to meet all your needs during your stay in this your hotel, and that services were not completely to your liking, I dirijido all relevant departments to take necessary measures and also to provide better facilities and better servcio, that if in the future we visit again we can exceed their expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

What can I say. Appalling experience from first contact the staff were rude. There was mix up with our reservation we were made to wait ( standing) while the tried to resolve the problem when I sat on the lounges we got dirty stares. You would think we had come to steal the fily silverware We finally got to our room after we paid a surity despite our booking being fully paid in advance the room was as far from front desk as possible. My husband was clearly unwell. Our shower had mold. The hairdryer was faulty and clearly unsafe shooting sparks. Again rudely informed nothing was wrong with it. We had very early check out. No porter arrived to assist me and they were again rude GLAD TO BE OUT OF THERE }

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Sue G:

On behalf of the entire staff and myself we ask the most sincere apologies, greatly regret any inconvenience our company, could have caused the bad regarding services provided.
We are aware that we have caused an inconvenience and we have dealt with the relevant departments to take all necessary steps to remedy this issue by making improvements in our installations and better service for our personnel.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My experience at this hotel nearly ruined my family's vacation! We arrived early and were promised to be able to check in our rooms by noon. We did not get a room until nearly 5pm, while ALL of the other parties that arrived after us got their rooms! There was never an apology; only a rude explanation that all the rooms were booked and it was our fault for arriving early.

The rooms themselves were very old, and some of our rooms were smelly. The concrete block walls made us feel like prisoners. To make matters even worse, our rooms backed a busy street. It was difficult to get into downtown since it was rather isolated from the center. There was not a single aspect of this hotel that was nice. Having traveled throughout the world, including to third world countries, this was the worst hotel in all aspects.

We complained to our tour operator about the horrible experience, and the hotel lied about everything, including telling them that we were upgraded. When people ask how Costa Rica was, we tell them that it would have been better if it weren't for this terrible hotel and the people that manage it. The moto in Costa Rica is "Pura Vida", but this hotel is "Pura Mentira"!

Room Tip: Avoid hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Work2TravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Work2TravelWorld:

With the present receive a warm greeting from our staff and my own, let me comment that we received your comments about your experience at our hotel and we are very sorry to have been unable to overcome their own expectations on your visit to our hotel, however I appreciate that we do know the points at which such hotel in elegant must improve to provide better service and a better experience for our visitors, the most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, we will deal with the departments corresponding to such situations do not happen with our team, and we want to have another chance to exceed your expectations when traveling through this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

really comfortable and upscale hotel. funky architecture. we stayed three nights, the property is impeccable, 10min walk to the town center. and if you want to hang out at the property then an excellent bar with live music every night. Would skip breakfast, nothing to write home about.
Price was reasonable, we showed up at 7am and they let us do an early check in (very civilized)
Pura Vida

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T4fun65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear T4fun65:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, I want to thank you chose us for your stay during your visit to our beautiful country and we are pleased that nuesros services were to your liking and first classes, we wish have the opportunity to have you back with us again to exceed your own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

PROs: A really brilliant online deal made us come to this international standard Radisson licensed hotel. It is a 5 star hotel and deserves it really. The staff at reception, bar and breakfast restaurant were billiant! Really nice, anticipating our wishes and always there. The hotel area is huge! There is a very nice pool (may be a bit cold), but also a warm (actually hot) pool/jakuzi, which are both really nice and free to use. There is a garden area in the centre of the hotel, next to the pool. The rooms are really perfectly equipped and actually quite big. Free parking is just outside the hotel and is safe. The breakfast is amazing and was included. All in all really a 5 star hotel with a really fair price if booked online and perfect service.

CONs: No negative points. Only the location next to the Braulio road, makes those rooms toward it, a bit noisy as you cannot hear cars, but the trucks, which drive even at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Marco V:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, I want to thank you chose us for your stay during your visit to our beautiful country and we are pleased that nuesros services were to your liking and first classes, we wish have the opportunity to have you back with us again to exceed your own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is great! Safe, clean, good location. The staff if very attentative and helpful. We stayed four nights and everything was affordable. (2 queen sleep number beds, executive suite, approx. $100usd a night). Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecbindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear ecbindy :

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and all the services provided, we are grateful that your stay was first class.

On behalf of all staff of Radisson and my own, we would like to thank you for your choice and we hope to see you again when you travel to this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.6 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Property: Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Green Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing