We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was quite big but rather noisy since there is a street just next to the hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast was of a good value.
The hotel is close to the bus station (terminal gran caribe) and the little butterfly garden (Spirogyra Jardin de Mariposas). It takes about a 10 minute walk to downtown. Overall a nice place for a short stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler_traveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Traveler_Traveler 215:

Yours sincerely on behalf of all our staff and my own, we are extremely grateful for havernos chosen for your stay in San Jose and haver written about our hotel, all here hope to have the opportunity to have you again in our hotel for so power exceed all your expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    359
    172
    51
    35
See reviews for
163
245
88
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located close to downtown. It's a bit outdated, but fairly well kept. The place is big, ask for rooms close to the elevators. The business class breakfast is very limited. Only stay here for business and if you need to go to places close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr E_Panama:

Kind regards from all staff of our hotel and my own, we appreciate that you chose us for your stay in San Jose, and to write about us, also thank your score of 3 stars and a review, we hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us for so to overcome their own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is where the big hotel operators get it wrong. The location is ok but the gorunds are tired and the hotel has the feel of a 1970's UK school building. Our suite, whilst large in size had many faults. Light adjuster knobs missing, a dirty and unkept balcony, chewing gum stuck on the balcony door...just not what you expect for the price. The worst bit was on check out. I was asked for my credit card without being shown a bill! The when I asked for the bill the woman on the front desk looked so put out that actually giving me a bill may have killed her!! Very very poor indeed. I was not impressed. I would stay at the Marriot or Grano de Oro instead, they are little bit more pricier but the level of quality and experience is far greater. We left this place feeling disappointed and ripped off. Positives - breakfast was good and the woman on the breakfast area was very nice. The bar was good and lively and theres a small casino (albeit a bit dingy) on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear RSC838:

Yours sincerely on behalf of all our staff and my own, we are very sorry that your stay in our hotl was not to his liking for the inconvenience you had during your stay, I have dealt with the hotel management to take measures necessary for such situations what will not happen again with our team, and hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us to exceed your expectations and also give you a first class stay.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our arrival and departure nights into Costa Rica. On our arrival flight into the country, we ended up getting to the hotel at 7:30 AM in the morning and we were not sure whether the hotel would have our room ready at the time. They were very accommodating and had us in our room within 30 minutes, which was great since we had been traveling 18 hours with a little one!

The hotel was modern and clean, and the service was top notch. Nearly everyone at the hotel spoke good English, so it was easy to communicate with the staff. We were upgraded to a corner room, which provided plenty of space for my wife and toddler. The only improvement we would have liked was a bit more options for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr James S:

Kind regards from all the staff and my own, we are pleased that your stay in our hotel was first class both for you and your family, I owe that we write about us on this website,
wish to have the opportunity to have them again to well to overcome their own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I checked in around 10 pm in the evening. When the desk clerk handed me my keys my room number was announced. Not Impressed. I must of been given the room farthest away.
The breakfast buffet was okay. however, some of the staff were to busy chatting with each other.
Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning my room. I requested a robe and it was delivered immediately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karol452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Ms Karol:

Receive a warm welcome from all the staff at our hotel and my own, thank you for writing about our hotel, I want to tell you about the inconveniences you had during your stay, which I have dealt with the relevant department for this type of situations do not happen again with our team, and rather we have the opportunity to have you here again in our hotel and so we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We where based here for the week for meetings and it was a pleasant surprise the restaurant had good choices and quality food. Try the salmon. The gym is also a great size operating as an external Gold Gym as well. There is a lot of room in the rooms and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Newnhamp:

Yours sincerely on behalf of all our staff and my own, we are pleased that your stay in our hotel was first class and the services provided were satisfactory, we are extremely grateful to the wonderful comments about the services provided and our facilities, we thank you also for your score of 4 stars, we want to have the opportunity to have you with us again so appliance to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Don't let the title put you off, this is an excellent hotel.
It certainly aims for a business clientele, with it's own convention centre, but ought to suit the tastes of almost any international traveler. The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is above average for hotel fare and the rooms are well equipped and comfy - a nice touch in my ground floor room was an adjustable mattress, press a button and the firmness changes.
As a conference centre I would highly recommend - everything worked and the high speed Internet (free) was welcomed by all. There is also a 'casino' but this is so far from Vegas that I would recommend you avoid the dive.
So why not a 5?
Well the location is not very inspiring, situated on a main (noisy) road and surrounded by nothing of interest and I object to the treatment of smokers. I realize that the law determines where you can and can not smoke but forcing people to cross a road and stand in a car park in the rain (which it does a lot in Costa Rica) seemed rather brutish.
And finally the decor which just did not work for me. Imagine you owned a multi story car park and decided to become a hotelier but only had 80% of the required budget. The result is that every fifth wall is bare concrete - even in the bedrooms. I am sure it was done deliberately in the name of art but for me it just looked unfinished.
But I would certainly be happy to return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking over the road unless you are a truck spotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetinga from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr/s Gustypants:

Yours sincerely on behalf of all our staff and my own, we are very grateful to take the time to write about our hotel, and all services, unfortunately if the hotel is a bit old for that reason tends to infrastructure that aspect, we thank you also for your score of 4 stars, all here hope to have the opportunity to have you again when traveling through this area for well able to overcome their own expectations, thanks also for choosing us for your stay.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#16 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Property: Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Green Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing