We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business trip to San José de Costa Rica - 2 nights at the Radisson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A business trip to San José de Costa Rica - 2 nights at the Radisson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel, great, location excellent, service average, restaurant terrible, beds need to be changed - too old.
The front desk average, with good english speaking, the restaurant "Colores" inside the Hotel, really bad, soups cold, service between dishes to long, no to much lights.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, the problem with room 2030, the bed. Old, the mattress with a strong smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica


Dear Mr Luis:

I appreciate your punctuation 4 stars on our hotel, always waiting for his next visit this area, with respect to your comments we have dealt with the food and beverage department of the drawbacks in the restaurant watercolors, and measures are being taken necessary for this type of situation is not resubmitted with our team.
thanks again for having chosen hope will soon.

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Radisson Hotel San Jose
Tel: 2010-6000 ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Waterloo, Ia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and the rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we also ate one night in the restaurant and the food was good, but kind of expensive. It was walking distance to downtown without feeling you were that close. Nice little casino attached to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Saludos desde Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Estimado Sr: Grammora

La presente es para saludarle y agradecerle por sus maravilloso comentario y su calificación de 4 estrellas, todo el personal de nuestro hotel esta sumamente agradecido por habernos elegido para su estancia en San Jose, deseamos tener la oportunidad de tenerle nuevamente con nosotros y así poder superar sus propias expectativas en una próxima visita a esta zona.

Sinceramente

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Found the hotel on expedia without really knowing what to expect and was totally surprised! got a great big room which literally had everything, service was kind and helpfull, and breakfast had a good variety.
Only two small things kept it from being completely perfect:
1.Location, not the best area, understood it's a major issue in San Jose all around.
2.Stream in the shower was very weak.

other then that highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ygmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed 3 single nights on a trip through Costa Rica. Rooms are large and very nice. Restaurant is surprisingly good for a Hotel. The only drawback is that location is a bit out of the way of central district. It is walkable but we took a cab. Cabs very inexpensive. The ones at hotel will give you their card and pick you up later when you call them .

Very good full Hot Breakfast Buffett . Gym is shared as part of Gold Gym. Pools and hot tub not heated . Small Casino attached. Good Internet response and included

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Hrw 1953

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica and I found it to be near perfect. I was there on business and didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but the services that I did access were top notch. The WiFi worked perfectly from day one and never flagged. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was certainly 5-star. This hotel would be my first choice for business or pleasure the next time I am in San Jose. My only complaint: there was no BBC World Service and the CNN International feed seemed more like a domestic feed and didn't work all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Gibson

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. We had a business meeting there. The staff were lovely and the event team was one of the best I have dealt with. Everything highly organised. They also went far beyond the call of duty to help me out on some emergencies. The event manager was fantastic (I don't have her name). Two negatives - location is not good - it is away from shops etc, you have to drive. Secondly we saw a few cockroaches including one that strolled across the table during lunch! Maybe normal in a warm climate and the hotel is quite old, but I would have expected a better standard from the Radisson.,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica


On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is your standard Radisson Hotel, with a beautiful pool and many water areas on the property. I stayed here on the first and last night of a tour of Costa Rica and was very happy with my room. The property is laid out so that it's very hard to find room numbers and I never found any elevators for upper rooms. I had two Sleep Number beds in my room. One was very comfortable but the other one would not hold pressure. The other amenities in the room were standard, with the exception of a very nice iPod dock that came in handy charging my iPhone.

The bar doesn't open until very late in the afternoon, and the room information says the breakfast restaurant is open from 6AM to 6PM but it is only open for breakfast. They have a nice selection of food at breakfast buffet, but not great compared to other world hotels. The entire property is fenced off and guarded so it made me not want to leave on foot to see what was nearby. The front desk was helpful when I had any questions.

Room Tip: You can pay the hotel front desk your SJO airport exit tax of $28 in advance. That saved me lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Deeply regret the inconvenience you had during your stay we notified relevant departments to take necessary actions to ensure that such situations do not happen again in your next visit


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing