We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel and Service”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Service”
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We stayed here as part of our Costa Rica Caravan Tour. The rooms and common areas are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Judging from the bathroom fixtures, this is an older property that has been well-updated. We particularly enjoyed the piano player in the lobby during cocktail hour. A nice touch of elegance. Although we normally do not eat buffet food, we felt that the food was good and there was a nice variety. We also enjoyed a great lunch at the poolside grill. As mentioned by others, the surrounding area is not good for walking. A note to those who complained about the hard beds: if you travel in Mexico & Latin America, you will find that firm beds are the custom (except in hotels built soley for Americans). We found these beds to be just fine.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexfandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    466
    233
    70
    66
See reviews for
193
399
98
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed here as part of our Caravan Costa Rica tour. The food and variety was amazing. The service staff went out of their way to cater to us. The rooms are comfortable - on par with a Holiday Inn or Ramada. The grounds (pool and garden) were lovely. The exercise room was small but well equipped. A very nice place to stay - but there is not a lot around the hotel to walk to.

  • Liked — buffet at the restaurant
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on the tail end of our trip to Costa Rica. We arrived in the afternoon and found the look of the hotel to be very modern and very classy. There isn't very much around the hotel, so unless you have a car, you'll be cabbing it. We didn't feel much like exploring the area, which left us at the mercy of the hotel dining options. Perhaps it was just a case of some tired travelers wishing they were back home, but the food was nothing special. The dining options were either room service or a buffet that cost $23. We opted for room service. My club sandwich had an egg on it. Nice.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in a Eurpoean style, but all the style in the world won't make up for sleeping on what is essentially a concrete slab. It was ironic because the hotel featured a "pillow bar" that allowed guests to custom order pillows of a desired firmness. My wife ended up constructing a tiny bed made of pillows that seemed to work out for her, while I took my chances on the "rock".

The airport shuttle in the morning was one reason I selected the hotel; it was punctual and comfortable.

We paid around $110 for our room, if that helps you gauge what we got. It seemed to be a decent value.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawhorn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

This hotel was booked through my boyfriend's work; I don't know what our rate (which included buffet breakfast) was. We got in late one night, the airport shuttle arrived after only a 5 minute wait curbside. Hotel check-in was smooth, we sailed right up to the 6th floor (concierge level - which had free wifi and coffee, hot tea, cold bottled water and treats throughout the day and night). In-room bottled water and plate of treats available gratis upon check-in.

In general the Barcelo was very clean and seemed safe. Employees made best effort to speak English (even housecleaning). Shower pressure was AWESOME! Plenty of bath, hand and face towels and toiletries that were replaced 2x daily. Two robes and two sets of brand new slippers in the wardrobe which had more hangers than you could shake a stick at. Mattress was hard as a rock but strangely enough had fluffy down pillows. We slept fine for the mere two nights we were there. One previous reviewer complained about the decor of the room - the style is very European, low profile furniture with a wall of wardrobe. It's not what you'd see in the States so you can't expect to compare it as such.

Went down to the casino for about an hour the first night; it's a weird, smoky little place tucked up on the second floor next to the Salon. Have to get your own gratis drinks (in the USA they practically throw liquor at you even if you're at the slots). Enjoyed walking around the property and pool that night – it looked so pretty. We were even more impressed the next day as the foliage and landscaping paths around the pool were immaculate.

Buffet breakfast was expansive with loads of local foods plus the standard American buffet dishes. Kept us full until dinner. Small area next to front desk for tours; we booked the San Jose City Tour and were pleased with the four hour diversion.

Large fluffy towels for the pool are available behind the pool bar - you have to request them though. Only complaint about the pool area - we never received chaise lounge chair service around the pool. Had to get up and walk to bar although plenty of employees were milling about.

Numerous gift shops and one Internet cafe at property, even a small Salon that offers massages, etc. The BF got his first deep tissue massage and seemed to like it enough - they only have one treatment room for facials/massages. They kept pushing to give him his massage in our hotel room - which my BF wasn't too thrilled with since I planned to wait out his treatment at the bar. The two women that work the Salon don't communicate very well - there was a miscommunication in scheduling and we almost cancelled my BF's massage. There is also a fitness center (called the Spa) on property, we never went in though.

Ate dinner at the buffet the last night; it was a good value. Their house red wine wasn't bad - have no idea what is was but at only $2 colones a glass it was a deal. Most ppl seemed to be on package deals but there were a few business travelers and couples sprinkled in as well.

All in all the Barcelo San Jose Palacio is a strong four-star property that tries harder than its contemporaries in the States.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank christigpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

I went there with two of my friends. We had a blast! Costa Ricans are very nice people, at least the ones we met. We loved it. I loved the food in the hotel and outside the hotel. The tours were amazing: Canopy, coffee, butterfly, hot springs and volcanoes! I'm in love with Costa Rica and I will come back. I will absolutely come back to this hotel, it was very clean and modern.

  • Liked — How clean the hotel was...
  • Disliked — I liked all.
  • Tips/Secrets — Research!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at the Barcelo San Jose Palacio for a total of 4 nights both at the beginning and end of a tour of Costa Rica. This was in mid-June 2006.

The hotel was okay, but I don’t think I would rate it as a 4* hotel which I believe it is normally sold as.

The hotel is located between the airport and downtown and there are a couple other hotels nearby. Not a whole lot to do nearby, if you want to sightsee or shop you need to take a cab. Cabs are about $4-6 to downtown and slightly higher to nearby shopping centers, etc.

We had the included breakfast buffet at the hotel which was good. Lots of fresh fruit, cereals, a hot food selection and an omelet station. I thought it was quite good for a free buffet - plus nice views from the restaurant! We didn’t eat dinner at the buffet, but it was about $25/person. We did order room service once which came promptly, however the food wasn’t the best. I ordered a club house sandwich which came with gross bacon and an egg on top. Very strange. We also had a burger and fries that was all right. There are a couple other restaurants within a $2-3 cab ride. Denny’s is very close as well.

The pool and the grounds of the hotel were quite nice. We didn’t really have any time to swim, but the pool was a fair size and had a small outdoor restaurant next to it for snacks and drinks.

The lobby was nice and the front desk staff was always pleasant when we dealt with them. There was a small casino in the hotel that we walked through about 3-4 times. We never saw a single person in it each time we went through. There were some table games and quite a few slots if you wanted something to do in the evening.

The rooms were decorated in what we thought was a 1970’s style. The décor wasn’t really warn out or anything, it just seemed like they decorated it in a quite outdated style. The rooms were about the same size as most hotels I have stayed in. Not too big, not too small. They were a bit dark and had wood paneling all over the one wall and a wood paneled closet. The pictures were quite outdated and unattractive. The bathroom was a decent size, but housekeeping never left us more that 2 towels, and never included any hand or face towels. A couple days that we stayed there our maid forgot to replace any of our towels and we had absolutely none in the room and had to call housekeeping. Rooms were fairly quiet and had large picture windows.

I walked around the hotel a couple times and didn’t see any spa at all. There was a small hair salon however.

The hotel itself was okay; we just weren’t crazy about the rooms or the housekeeping service. I would probably stay there again if the price was right, however I wouldn’t recommend it to people who are looking for a real 4* -5* hotel. I would rate it as more of a 3*.


DAY TOURS
There are two tour desks at the hotel, and we took a couple day tours from the hotel. One was the canopy tour, which was great. It was about 1.5 – 2 hours from the hotel in each direction and we were able to do about 10 – 12 zip lines through the rainforest (plus a tarzan rope – Fun!!!). The zip lines through the rainforest rangde from about 25m to 150m. The last 3 lines are over valleys and are 250m, 300m and 750m! I wouldn’t recommend the longer lines for people who are afraid of heights, but the rest of the lines would be okay. This was a really unique tour and both of us really enjoyed it!

We also did a day tour to the La Paz Waterfall gardens. This includes lunch (overlooking a beautiful cloud forest – lovely!!), plus the on-site butterfly & hummingbird garden. The hummingbird garden was my personal favorite with so many of the little hummingbirds zooming around. Great pictures! The waterfalls were lovely as well, but there were lots of steps, so not a great thing for people with mobility problems. There were about 4 –5 waterfalls total. I would recommend this tour to anyone. My boyfriend was not originally interested in the butterflies and hummingbirds, but he ending up really enjoying it.

Helpful?
12 Thank kristin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2006

In December of 2005, I stayed at this hotel and found it to be very good hotel. The location is not right in downtown but not far at all, and with the low taxi fare in Costa Rica, it made going into downtown area very easy. The hotel have casino on site and that give you some thing to do if you like to gambling a bit. The breakfast buffet is excellent with lots of food and varieties. The room is nice and clean and is luxuary. The high speed internet work well and I use it on the daily basis. Regretably, I was out touring around the cities a bit, so did not have time to eat in one of their fine restuarant but it looked good. The view from the room is fantastics and the atmosphere is very quiet, nice, and what I expect from being on vacation. The staff was nice and helpful. For the price I paid about a bit under 100 usd a night, this is defintely a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear Hotel Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the new Management Team of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio in Costa Rica.

It seems as though you have not been contacted back in 2009 and we sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up from our Hotel.

Now the new Management Team wants to thank you for your visit in 2009 and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Your feedback was incredibly valuable to us and it is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,



The New Management Team
Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus San Jose
Best Western Plus San Jose
#24 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing