We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Hotel staff was very friendly and professional, specially Andrey at the front desk. Rooms are comfortable and roomy. The buffet breakfast was not bad either. We booked an extra room for our newlywed daughter and they arranged it with champagne, strawberries and chocolate at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902vladimirf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Mr. Vladimir

Thank you for sharing your opinions and comments .

It was a pleasure having you here. Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    477
    239
    73
    68
See reviews for
204
410
101
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night here. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We asked for a quiet room and a crib for our baby, everything was taken care of in advance. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden view on third floor rooms and above are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica_and_gabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Mrs. Jessica

Thank you so much for sharing your opinions of our hotel.

It was a pleasure having you here with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel is getting old. One room was ok but the second one was smelling smoke. We were given another room.
Most services were closed (japonese restaurant, pool, piano, ...) and there were barely nobody in the hotel. The impression was not positive !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HariSeldon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2017
Dear Traveler

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló San José hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo the first few nights before our Caravan tour. We actually arrived a day early. The accommodations were great. Daniel Quiros took excellent care of us and we had a wonderful experience. Loved seeing the Toucan outside the Lobby. The groundskeepers, the service personnel and all the people we encountered were great. The Japanese restaurant was delicious. Beautiful swimming pool. Clean rooms. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you spend your stay in our beautiful country in the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel. Every day we are trying to be better for our guests, that´s why your reviews are so important for us, so now we know that we are doing it right!!

Caravan is always bringing to us wonderful guests, all of them are special and we are so proud that you felt support from our front desk manager, so we will transmit all your best wishes to Daniel.

We are so happy because you had the opportunity to browse our garden and note how magnificent landscape it is!!, so we hope your comeback soon!


Best regards,
Adriana Duran.
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We recently returned from a 10 night stay at the Palacio hotel. Beautiful, well-maintained venue. Staff was extremely friendly and did their best to accommodate our every request. The staff in the restaurant, especially Yorleny, Erika and Marcia were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and absolutely delicious filled with many typical Costa Rica and Western cuisine and a variety of fresh fruit. The gentleman who gave us tech support (unfortunately we have forgotten his name) was extremely patience and no matter how many times he came to our room to assist us exhibited the same politeness and professionalism each time. The young woman who arranged our tours at the desk, I believe her name was Danielle, was so courteous and helpful. Her recommendations and suggestions were spot on and every tour was totally enjoyable and well-paced. The pool area was spotless and the hammocks and outdoor furniture were clean and well-maintained. A totally wonderful, relaxing place to stay and very centrally located. One suggestion for the hotel would be to stock a variety of affordable priced snack food somewhere on the premises for the convenience of hotel guests. Also, on the morning when we left at a very early hour, the hotel had prepared boxed breakfasts for all of those taking the early morning shuttle to the airport! Lovely touch! Definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor´s community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our food service at the hotel.

Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction, thank for remember them, we will send to all your bets wishes.

We hope you to come back and get another pleasant stay.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran.
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Palacio twice now and enjoyed both visits. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are well appointed, the staff is courteous and friendly, and the amenities are excellent. They have a very nice pool, several restaurants and bars, a casino, spa, and beautiful grounds to walk around in. The "Cafeteria" has a nice breakfast buffet and dinner buffets. The food is typical for buffets in that the food is good, but not great. There is a good variety of choices with lots of local favorites. Prices are reasonable as well. The hotel is a short $10-$15 cab ride from downtown, and there are many excursions you can take directly from the hotel. I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Soccer Stadium as the other side of the hotel faces the roof of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Receive our greetings. It’s wonderful for all of our staff here at Barcelo San Jose Palacio to know that your stay with us was so pleasing.

We are very pleased to know that our place was to your liking, nice for us that all the accommodations and facilities were well received from you and that you enjoyed eating in our restaurants.
We will make sure to pass along your amazing reviews to our different departments.

We are looking forward you come back soon. We will be very pleased to provide to you another wonderful stay.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran.
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham. Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel services was average, I order a room service at 12 midnight and after one hour I call again, they tell me that they where nocking at my door but in reality they where looking on another room, after some minutes I get my food. Also they never clean the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2017
Dear Traveler

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló San José hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,418 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing