We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Prattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great hotel. I would stay there again. We were not fortunate to hear the piano in the lobby being played. The wifi worked, and the landscaping was beautiful. Nice nature walk. Just a tip-do not exchange money at the US airport as there is a charge. The Costa Rica airport does not charge a fee. Most everywhere I went (on tour) accepted US dollars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    394
    188
    61
    59
See reviews for
154
326
78
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A lovely place. Good food; not much of a selection. it rained all the time so we couldn't use the pool. The grounds are beautiful and I highly recommend the snack bar at the poolside. Order from the appetizers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for sharing your comments, but also for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community.

It will be a pleasure to serve you in your next visit to Costa Rica or any other Barceló Hotels & Resorts..

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at nicer Barcelo properties but this was ok. Room was clean and comfortable with good air conditioner
Buffet food was good! The omelet lady was slow but made the best omelet we had in all CR.
WIFI was good and consistent throughout.
We especially enjoyed the piano player in the lobby before dinner, he was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Barcelo proved to be a great place to land when we first arrived to San Jose, Costa Rica. Free Wifi allowed us to do the in-country research we needed and line things up for our travels around Costa Rica. They can exchange USD at the front desk for a reasonable rate and there are ATMs to get either USD or Colones, which made everything easier. Breakfast is included and the food is quite good. As a vegetarian there was no problem finding choices. It is not a place I would want to stay if I was staying in San Jose, as it is right off the highway and in an area not great for walking and exploring. But it is very convenient if you need a clean, dependable place to arrive from the airport, regroup and take off to explore the country. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautiful and the pool is quite extravagant with giant comfortable hammocks.

Room Tip: Since we are here in low season, they had fantastic deals on the VIP status so we went for it and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here several days on our recent trip to Costa Rica. PLEASE don't waste your $$ on this place!!! The rooms are dated, the food was terrible and the service was horrible. If I had it to do over I would never have stayed here. Hind sight is 20/20 so hopefully I can save you a miserable experience. The A/C did not work in the last room we stayed in and the walls are paper thin. We could literally hear EVERYTHING in the rooms on either side. And I mean EVERYTHING! The sheets felt like sandpaper which was made even worse by the poor A/C. The food was sub-standard at best. It is sad to say I looked forward to a McDonald's stateside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As a tourist having rented a car at the airport, finding your way to the hotel is a kind of adventure as there are almost no signs to guide you and Costaricains are not very precise in giving directions!
No valet to help with luggage, except after we brought ourselves all of them to the lobby. But of course a tip was much awaited... In the room, the minibar was locked and to have it unlocked we had to deposit 50 dollars ( yes they much favor the US currency over their own) but the minibar had to stay open ( no the client is not entitled to keep the key). Of course after having had the minibar open, a tip was much awaited...
The Japanese restaurant of the hotel was a ...disaster.
To summarize, poorly managed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edouard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Upon driving up to this hotel, you don't expect what you will see on the inside. The hotel gives you the thought that it is on the level of a Holiday Inn, from the outside but once you step through the doors you get a little piece of heaven. The lush garden in back leads you to a beautiful bar and pool with plenty of beach chairs and hammocks to rest in. The staff is very friendly here all I can say about this place is "Pura Vida".

Room Tip: 1st Floor rooms offer you a balcony on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notlrac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Dear Traveler

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us valuable feedback about your experience at our Hotel.

It was a pleasure having you here.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Property: Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing