We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a wonderful experience in Guatemala City, thus leading me to this hotel in San Jose. Not the same at all. My family was there over Christmas and because of the isolated location, we had no options for a nice meal or even a grocery store. When we asked where is a good place to order out from, the only suggestion was Denny's. Are you kidding me? I am in Costa Rica. The room was icky, did not feel clean. The pool was freezing, not heated and therefore unusable. The fitness center was closed, one of the main reasons for getting this place. The breakfast was good. Overpriced for what it was, not a good value at all. Never again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julianswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear guest:

Receive greetings; also apologize on behalf of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. If the experience wasn't what you expected, at less we have the opportunity to read your review and learn about your specific case, arrange a feedback with the team´s managers, and reorganize the points where we aren’t strong yet.

We´re also thankful with you to show us the fails we had, because every mistake is a new chance to do our best effort day by day to get our clients’ satisfaction. Actually there are a lot of good options near to the hotel to take a good dinner. Include our restaurants.

About the fitness center, it have a wide schedule, usually is open during the week from 6:00am. to 10:00 p.m. that just different on weekends., but it still open.
We want to apologize again and expect be your host again if you come back to Costa Rica, and provide you a beautiful stay with us.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

My Worst experience ever in any hotel. The front desk manager will black mail you especially at night. They ask you to pay for a lot of basic things. They will charge you $45 for every friend who wants to visit you even for few minutes. Very rude, they let me get sick and didn't turn the AC. they cut my phone at night because he wants money. I would not recommended it even for animal shelter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear guest:

Receive greetings; also apologize on behalf of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. If the experience wasn't what you expected, at less we have the opportunity to read your review and learn about your specific case, arrange a feedback with the team´s managers, and reorganize the points where we are not strong yet.

We charge for people who will sleep at the hotel, no for friends who come to visit the guests. So maybe it was a misunderstanding. About the phone and the services that we offer, they have an extra cost, for that reason the front desk will always ask you at check in if you want open a voucher to charge those services.

We are sorry if your stay wasn't pleasant, if you have another suggestion for the Hotel we will glad to receive it. We looking forward to get the opportunity to serve you again and restart the experience.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Easy pick-up from the airport. Hotel is nice,but felt that a lot of the staff need to smile. Easy tour booking from the hotel and enjoyed both La Poas waterfall and Arenal tours. A taxi is needed for any other trips. $10.00 to Walmart, $14.00 to the big mall for two.The best thing about the restaurant was the breakfast was included with the stay but I did not eat evening meals there as I thought it was overpriced ($30.00pp) for what little food I would have liked or eaten.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. Thank you very much for your comments; we are glad that you visited nice places in Costa Rica, which is such a wonderful country to enjoy the nature and relax.

Thank you so much for your advice about smiling at the front desk, you are right, the clients are our push so we are very happy to meet them. As well we already talk with the manager of this area, to reaffirm the compromise to attend our guests always as better as we can.

We are almost in downtown, it only takes 15 minutes to get there so there is a highway by the hotel for that reason is easier take a cab.

Thank you again for your comment and for choose Barceló San José Palacio.

Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have mixed feelings with this hotel. The room was fine, staff was nice, the swimming pool, although the weather wasn’t warm enough for bathing, seemed really nice and welcoming. However, other small things left me with a bad feeling.
I stayed there for business for almost a week, and from Monday to Wednesday, the hotel was almost empty and very calm. On Thursday, a huge group arrived for a conference, and it was just impossible to have breakfast, due to the number of people in line for the different food stations.
Besides, what I found as being the worst problem is that the location is really bad, and it’s difficult to go walking anywhere. The entrance of the hotel is in a road, and there’s no sidewalk for pedestrians (or at least, there’s no space for people to walk in and out).
I’m not sure I’d stay there again…

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sofiacrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Dear Mrs. Sofía

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló San José hotel for your holidays in Costa Rica, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The "5 Star" Hotel is the first hotel on this level which disappointed me so much. I've stayed in a lot of 5 Stars hotels worldwide, but never met so unfriendly and unwilling staff. Maybe smiling is forbidden here. High additional costs for internet. Nice garden and pool, nevertheless I can't recommend this hotel, because for 5 Stars the quality is too poor.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfgang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Convenient, with a shuttle to and from the airport every hour, a fairly complete gift shop and good restaurants, the hotel was a short drive away from the city attractions. The hotel seemed to be better suited for families as they tend to host and be better informed about family activities, I.e. Christmas, New Year's Eve, etc...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank nadersalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guest it’s very important for our hotel that you took the time to let us know your opinion about your stay with us, here In Barcelo San Jose Palacio we open our doors and receive every type of guest with warm and welcoming attention.

From families to business people we have a variety of services that can satisfy all of our guest’s requests and a premium concierge service that can set up tours, restaurants, sightseeing, shopping recommendations and a wide range of other services available for all types of guests here in Barcelo San Jose Palacio.

We hope that we can have you stay with us soon again once again thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

Best regards.

Luana Sanchez
Servicio al Huésped / Guest Services
Hotel Barceló San José Palacio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The reception is really bad and unfriendly. We couldnt check in until ar night because we didnt arrive all together (we had passports and possibilities to pay but had to wait for the other person)Not worthy the price

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Stéphanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest.

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of Barcelo San José Palacio; we appreciate your comment in our tripAdvisor´s web page. Is truly important for us know which our skills and fails are, that’s the best way to concern about them and start immediately with the necessary changes.

We want to apologize for every inconvenience that you had in your last stay.
Thank you again for your opinion. Is also remarkable for the company to receive complaints and use them like tips to get better. So we hope that you come back as a visitor at the hotel, and make you feel like in home.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $87 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing